Newbie desktop what-to-buy thread

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by fuzzynavo, May 29, 2005.

1. fuzzynavo macrumors regular

OK guys, sorry to give out another what to buy thread, but I'm relatively new to the Mac community. I've been using a 12" pb for the past 2 years and decided it may be time to sell it and move up to a desktop since I don't need portability that much anymore.

The question is: my university sells the older dual 2.0 powermac (rev b/June 2004 I believe?) for $1600-$100 apple discount = $1500. Also available is the newest rev dual 2.0 for $1700-$100 = $1600. For that $100 extra you get a double-layer superdrive, and a slightly better gpu. But I've heard the older rev has better expandability. I don't foresee myself really using the PCI-X slots or maxing out the RAM anytime in the near future, but is it a good trade off for the $100 difference?

Also, I know that for someone with my needs, a powermac is overkill, (I'm more in the iMac audience), but I have a nice lcd and would prefer not to have an all-in-one. I've looked into the Mac mini, and though it probably can do everything I need it to at the moment (office, web, itunes, iphoto, light gaming, light 3d apps), I'm worried that it's not very future-proof and in a year I would be regretting my decision. I can rationalize buying a PM if it will last me 4 or 5 years (which it probably would).

Anyone have any addt'l advice? Thanks in advance.

2. FFTT macrumors 68030

FFTT

I'm a bit slanted in my view since I just got one of them puppies!

Best bang for the buck IMHO!

After all you're getting a FULLY expandable dual G5 PowerMac
    for less than the price of a single processor G4 Powerbook.

Go for it while you can still find one at that price.!

3. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

macbaseball