Newbie - DVD Burning Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by i-sidd, Jan 9, 2007.

1. i-sidd macrumors 6502a

Hi, I am new to Mac and I just got my first MB. I have some dvds that I own that I would like to burn. I downloaded handbrake, but from what I have understood its only to rip dvds and then it can only play in an ipod. I want to also be able to watch them on a DVD player. How do I do that, what software do I need, hopefully a free one if anyone can recommend. Also can I only rip audio from a DVD and play it in itunes.

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!!!

2. xyian macrumors 6502

xyian

You need a program like Toast to burn it back to a DVD.
    I use MacTheRipper and then burn the DVD using Toast.

3. i-sidd thread starter macrumors 6502a

isn't there any free applications that can do it. I have to Buy toast. isn't there any other way.

4. apfhex macrumors 68030

apfhex

You need a program to

a. rip the DVD. MacTheRipper can do this well.
    b. compress the files to fit on a DVD±R. Burnable DVDs are smaller capacity than commercial DVDs.
    c. burn the files.

Toast takes care of B and C but yes, it costs a bit of money. It's not just about compressing the audio/video, but also preserving the menus and everything, unless you don't care about those. I don't know a free utility that does that, at least not without a fair amount of work involved.

5. i-sidd thread starter macrumors 6502a

So, if I rip the dvds now with mac the ripper will it save all the menus etc. So basically, even if I burn DVD-R after ripping through handbrake or mac the ripper. it will not be able to play on the dvd player but the dvd could be played on the computer right.

6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

Toast is an awesome, powerful app - definitely worth the money IMO. And version 8 has just been announced! :cool:

7. xyian macrumors 6502

xyian