Newbie Help: F1 key and brightness

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mcs37, Jul 27, 2004.

1. mcs37 macrumors regular

mcs37

I'm trying to lower the brightness on my 12" PowerBook Rev C but the F1 key isn't doing it. When I hit F2, it shows the brightness icon and that it's at max. However F1 does nothing.

I'm a newbie so I haven't figured out exactly how to check that the key is working correctly. I went to System Preferences and dug around to see if something had overidden the key but so far nothing showed up.

Does anyone know how I can remap the F1 key so it will lower the brightness of the monitor? I'm writing this in the dark so it's like staring into a lightbulb. Not that I don't like the brightness of the LCD, but not at the moment...

2. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

Go to system preferences ---> Display By the bottom should be a bar that you could move a slider back and fourth. There ya go.

3. mcs37 thread starter macrumors regular

mcs37

Cool, that works, so thank you, but I still can't figure out why the F1 key isn't doing the job for me. Where can I re-map they key?

4. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Just out of curiousity, try this:

Go to System Preferences...->International->Input Menu

Make sure that Keyboard Viewer is selected (should be near the top of the list).

Select "Show input menu in menu bar".

Go to your menu bar and select the input menu and pull it down to select "Show Keyboard Viewer".

Now you should see each key press in the viewer. Press F1 and see if it's even being registered as a keypress.

Let us know what happens....

5. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Darn it...