newbie! help (Mac for music creation)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sebjenner, Mar 8, 2006.

1. sebjenner macrumors newbie

Mar 8, 2006
    Hello there! ok, let me give you lvoely people the lowdown.
    im from the uk, im a student and im rubbish with computers.
    I would really like to get a mac laptop for when i start uni, however i need to bare in mind im going to be doing a lot of music creation etc on it. Using few large programs like live 5 etc. so what RAM and hard drive should i get. i have about 30gb of music/cds easy by the way. oh and its on a creative zen...that going to be a problem with mac?
    now im also pretty poor. but i reckon i could stretch to an ibook. however... they are getting replaced by a crazy intel new one yes? so i should wait... hmm
    so im after some advice of what to buy and when. how much i'll need and...if anyone has anything they want to sell me! or any idea of decent refurbished apple places id be very grateful.
    thanks a lot
  2. Gadgetron macrumors newbie

Feb 22, 2006
    you might want to take a look at this powerbook that is on the apple sale site.
    its a very decent laptop.
    See here

Now if you want to go with a ibook check this one out

You are correct the ibooks will most likely go to the intel processors next month. I can only spec on how much storage they will have.
    For what it is worth, i had a brand new Macbook Pro for 72hours until it crashed and died. Thankfully i was able to bring it back. I have since purchased a 15" powerPC Powerbook from apple (refurb).
    The new intel Macbooks are good, but your not going to notice anything major until the universal .bins start showing up.
    Right now everyone is geeking out on:

1. being the first on the block with a Macbook (this was me)
    2. booting up faster than a powerbook user.

since you are doing music work the mac apps that come in ilife might help you becasue they are universal.