Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smy168

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 30, 2006
so I'm a newbie and I'm trying to install my Canon SD300 Elph software on a recently acquired iBook G4. I have the software installed but everytime I connect the camera to the usb wire and the book, the camera shuts off. Can anyone walk me through this?

also...

is the .mac worth getting? I like the reviews on the email side but do I have to renew every year for this?

Thanks,
Steven

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
so I'm a newbie and I'm trying to install my Canon SD300 Elph software on a recently acquired iBook G4. I have the software installed but everytime I connect the camera to the usb wire and the book, the camera shuts off. Can anyone walk me through this?

also...

is the .mac worth getting? I like the reviews on the email side but do I have to renew every year for this?

Thanks,
Steven

At $99 per year .Mac is a very expensive web mail account. Yahoo and Googles gmail are free with almost unlimited space while .mac has only 1GB of space. Some people think it is worth it but I think 1GB of space for $99 per year is not worth it.

Could it be that the camera is shutting off due to some power saving setting? You should turn the camera off then conect the cable then turnthe camera on.

Also you liky do not really need the Canon software unles you really like it. iPhoto will import the files directly off the camera

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
Illinois
Do not install any third party camera utilities onto Macs. I don't even know why they continue to insist on shipping Mac software. iPhoto is far superior to anything the Camera companies offer.

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
London, UK