Newbie needs help with Xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by usrg, Feb 18, 2004.

1. usrg macrumors newbie

Hey y'all, I'm pretty new to Xcode and I'm having trouble with some basic programs (like "Hello World!").

Basically, I can't get this following snippet of code to work:

#include <iostream.h>
    // or alternately, using #include <iostream> and then <using namespace std;> but without the angle brackets

void main () {
    cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
    }

The error I am getting is that iostream.h isn't found. I've done a search and it's in

/usr/include/gcc/darwin/2.95.2/g++/iostream.h
    /usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.1/g++-v3/backward/iostream.h
    /usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.3/c++/backward/iostream.h
    /usr/include/php/Zend/zend_istdiostream.h

so why isn't it finding it? Is there some framework I need to include for it to work? What kind of target should I be making for such a simple bit of code? I've done some googling on this, and the only thing I've found was a thread on this forum saying that using namespace std was needed, though I've tried that, too. Any suggestions/tips would be helpful. Thanks!

2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

This is the code I get when I create a C++ tool using Xcode:

#include <iostream>

int main (int argc, char * const argv[]) {
    // insert code here...
    std::cout << "Hello, World!\n";
    return 0;
    }

and that works just fine.

3. usrg thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the help! It worked! I was using an Empty Project and didn't know I needed libstdc++.a as a resource. But now I'm getting into the more complicated part of my problem. I'm trying to get a simple OpenGL program working, and I got it working using a Carbon Application Target, but that doesn't work with the C++ Tool Project type. ('cuz I needed to include a dirt.ppm texture file, which works when I put it in Bundled Resources, but the default target type doesn't have that option with the C++ Tool Project.