Newbie question. Do I have to buy all new software for my iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by QueenMadge, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. QueenMadge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    Do I have to buy all new software for my iMac? I have Microsoft office for my p.c., for example, is there anything I can do so it will run on the mac or do I have to buy a mac version of it? I apologise upfront if this is a really stupid question:).

    Margot
     
  2. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #2
    I would call Microsoft and ask they customer representatives if you can trade the PC version for the Macintosh version PPC. Or I would wait for the Universal version and trade-up. ;) :)
     
  3. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #3
    Unless you can get Virtual PC for intel OSX (I don't think it exists yet), or some other Windows emulator, you'll have to purchase new Mac software. Would be good if you could wait till universal releases as maya said but if you need it now you'll probably need to buy each software pack. Thems the breaks
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Is the iMac one of the new Intel-based ones or an older G5-based model because the Universal Binaries are only relevant if it's the former. If it's not, then buy Office for Mac now. There's no need to wait and Microsoft will not exchange your PC version. :(
     
  5. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #5
    As an alternative to buying more software give this a try. If your a hardcore PPT user it may not be suitable for you, but if you just need something that works OpenOffice and NeoOffice are good alternatives. :)


    peace | neut
     
  6. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #6
    She posted in another thread that it is an intel iMac
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7

    Ahh, good work. I'm losing my touch. :p

    Did I even ever have a touch?...
     
  8. QueenMadge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #8
    Thank you for the feedback. One more ?

    I do a newsletter for a group I belong to. Currently I create it in word. If I don't purchase mac version micro Office software (if I understood correctly it isn't out for the intel iMac yet?) Can other people with pc machines still read the email? If I've misunderstood something or missed the answer to this already I am sorry for the repeat question.

    Margot
     
  9. QueenMadge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #9
    Nevermind, I think neut answered my question

    already.

    Thanks.

    Margot
     

Share This Page