newbie to mac -- ' question!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by roxors, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. roxors macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    #1
    hey guys..

    just bought a mac and when i put the keyboard to canadian english (considering i am canadian ;)) whenever i press the damn " ' " key or the " ? " key i get a e with an accent over it.. how do i change these! its really pissing me off :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  2. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Use English, because Canadian English uses French characters AFAIK.
     
  3. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #3
    Are you sure you set it up to Canadian English? :D Just making sure. I am at work right now, so I cannot check, but don't you have two options for Canadian? For most languages you do, you might just try the other one.
    And if this doesn't work... oh well you're Canadian after all right? :p ;)

    Oh and welcome to the community and congrats on your purchase, hope you'll enjoy it as much as we do.
     
  4. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #4
    I'm confused

    Since when is Canadian English different from English, eh? Why not just use English, eh?
     
  5. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
  6. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #6
    for one it doesn't say "Canadian English" it say's "Canadian - CSA" so I guess it is set up for French Canadian. I just set it to U.S.A and unchecked "show input menu in menu bar" so the little American flag doesn't show, but it'd sure be nice if we could have the little Canadian flag for us English speaking Canadians. :(
     
  7. roxors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    #7
    thanks for the welcome.. and so far its DIFFERENT lol than a pc.. performance wize though.. hollly wow.. u notice a difference in work productivity etc... anyways yea i want that little canadian flag.. ill try the "System Preferences -- International" when its all charged up (have to let it discharge then charge up again first time use :'( i wanna play with it sooo much lol) but yea ok when its all up again ill try that.. if that doesnt work any other suggestions :'( i want CANADA lol ;) thanks guys like the forum already :D:D:D
     
  8. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #8
    You will have to select american under international in system prefrences. As for the flag you will eith have to get rid of it by deselecting "show input menu in menu bar" or you can just keep the american flag there.
     
  9. chameeeleon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    #9
    Since us Canadians started spelling words like neighbor, honor, etc. with a "u" after the "o".
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    Which makes it the same as English (and different from 'American English').

    Anyway, if it's any consolation, I have to choose US too (I only use English, I don't even know whether it's possible to type Maori (local language) characters on a Mac). But I've turned the flag off, so it doesn't annoy me :)
     
  11. roxors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    #11
    wow that sucks.. (apple get on fixing this ;))

    thanks for ur help guys!
     
  12. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    i know there is a way to change the keys on a keyboard layout. i read a mac addict article about an april fools prank of switching two of the letters on the keyboard. . . like when you press the 'p' key the input on the screen is 'a' and when you hit the 'a' key the input is 'p' so there is a way to customize your keyboard layout and you could get rid of your crazy question marks. . . i just dont remeber how to do that and dont have the magazine with me (its from a year or so ago) . . . maybe that only works in 10.2 i dont recall. good luck, and welcome to the wonderful world of mac!
     
  13. sinisterdesign macrumors 6502

    sinisterdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Location:
    atlanta
    #13
    you said you were letting it charge, what system did you get? iBook or Powerbook? always curious to see what a new convert is using. ;)

    as you can see, if you ever get stuck or run into Mac questions, this is a great resource. Mac-folk are always happy to share their knowledge (ESPECIALLY when it means one less windows user!)
     

Share This Page