News freak

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kidkasha, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #1
    I am thinking of buying Apple TV for my Imac dual core. I have a cable connection in my office. Can I watch news and cable tv in minimzed version while I work?? Thru my router will it work on other apple and PC computers?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    I think you are misunderstanding what the apple TV does, it streams content from your computer to your TV, not tv content to your computer
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #3
    Thank you. However is there a way to stream tv to computer, again I do have a cable connection
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #4
    Yes, checkout http://www.elgato.com :D
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #5
    I recommend a slingbox: http://www.slingmedia.com/
     
  6. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    I'd second this, I have an eyeTV and it works well. I've heard good things about slingbox as well, but have no experience with it.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    go with the eyetv.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #8
    Eyetv is awesome. Especially if you have an iPad.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    Eyetv on atv will be even more awsome. Since its a A4 arm binary, may be hacking community will find a way .
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #10
    which eyetv would you buy and does it come w/ software
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #11
    That depends are you going to be using a feed from a cable company or will this BE OTA.

    If it is from your cable company do they require you to have a "mini box" to get basic cable, or do you use one of the larger box's and get HD content
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #12
    Have a direct cable, i had a tv on my desk
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #13
    If your cable company has no plans to go to the "mini box" then i would get the eyeTV hybrid.

    If they are going to the "mini box" which mine did about a week after i bought my eyeTV hybrid i would buy the eyeTV HD.

    Both come with the eyeTV software.

    Now i will need to either sell my eyeTV hybrid,or buy an RF blaster to use with it.
     

Share This Page