Nike+ on 1.2 Software

Discussion in 'iPod' started by tardman91, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    tardman91

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa Area, FL
    #1
    Has anyone tried running with the new software? From what I read it sounded like the Nike+ feature should now work without the connector or pod, right? If that is true, can anyone say how accurate it measures the distance? How does it do it, with the accelerometer? If so, it must be pretty inaccurate since It can't really take into account stride length in figuring the distance? Just curious.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    I just got the nano this past weekend and last night, I ran on the treadmill for the 1st time. This is without the Nike+ dongle. I haven't calibrated it yet, but I did put in my height and weight.

    The distance did deviate from the reading on the treadmill (1.94 miles on the treadmill; 2.12 miles on the nano).

    Incidentally, a guy on these forums did a comparison between using the dongle and not. He found no appreciable difference in his test.

    ft
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    I tested it out on the treadmill last night and ended up within 1/100th of what the treadmill said. So, for me, it was extremely accurate. It's also a huge upgrade to me because I had been running with my iPhone. Was nice to remove that extra weight.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #4
    After I calibrated it, I ran outside on a course officially measured and marked. It was within about 10 feet of accuracy. I'm pleased.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #5
    That's nice to hear. I am planning on using mine to go out on a few runs, since our treadmill is out of commission at the moment.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tardman91

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa Area, FL
    #6
    Thanks for the info guys. I'll have to give it a try.
     

Share This Page