Nikon Coolpix 4200 or D70

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iBook, Sep 3, 2004.

1. iBook macrumors regular

I know, I know. Two very different cameras.

Both would suit my needs and my abilities as a photographer. I just think the 4200 is more practical; the D70 more provocative.

Anyone with experience with both cameras that could provide insight? I currently have a Coolpix 950, so either camera is a definite improvement.

Thanks.

2. swannman macrumors newbie

swannman

D70 is worth the price

I'm the proud new owner of a D70 and it's worth the money. This is my first time using an SLR camera (just graduated from college and decided now's a good time to get into the hobby) but you can see some sample pics here:

http://homepage.mac.com/swannman/PhotoAlbum6.html

and

http://homepage.mac.com/swannman/PhotoAlbum7.html

None of the photos have been retouched, so many of them are underexposed or suffer from similar flaws. My lack of photographic skill notwithstanding, it's a tremendous camera with tremendous capabilities. If you're looking for something that's an "open box" with a multitude of possibilities for the future, the D70 is it. Want to learn how various lenses affect your shot? Want to experiment with filters? Want to learn to control every last detail of your photographic experience? Want it to be rugged enough to perform well even in rain in downtown Seattle? The D70 is well worth the money if you're in the prosumer category and want to learn to take good photos.

Feel free to shoot me an email (should be in my profile) if you have more questions or want to see full 2.5 MB photos straight from the camera. Good luck making your decision!

3. matthewr macrumors member

Another Vote for the D70

I agree with swanman - the D70 is an absolutely incredible camera. I have owned 4 different digicams and the D70 is far superior to all of them (including my sony 717). Some pictures taken with the D70 can be found at: