Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mike2q

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 9, 2006
I'm new to photography and was interested in buying a digital SLR style camera. I don't have a lot to spend right now but want a camera I can grow with. I want something to learn from that won't really limit my creativity. I am strongly considering the Nikon D40 with the kit 18-55 lens ($599) as it gets great reviews from all of the photography sites. I also have found an Olympus E500 with the dual kit lens package (14-45 40-150). It is currently $649. Is the Olympus worth looking at? I'm not super concerned about CCD resolution but image quality is parimount.
I would consider spending more if the reason were good enough. I have considered the Nikon and a better lens. From what I can tell looking at sample pictures the lens seems to make a bigger difference than the camera body.
Any expert advice would be greatly apriciated.

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
Bergen, Norway
There's no really good answer to your question. I've always been an Olympus user, and just got myself an Olympus E-400, so of course I'll recommend that (or the E-500). ;)

Best thing you can do is to go down to a store that has bot cameras, and try them. See which fits best into your hands...

As for lenses, the four thirds system is still fairly young, and there are more lenses to choose from for the Nikon, but Zuiko/Olympus, Sigma and Panasonic/Leica are catching up, and the lenses that are available does get great reviews (except for the low end Sigma lenses that get more varied reviews).