Nintendo, WiFi, Airport (DS or Wii)

Discussion in 'Games' started by aidanpendragon, Oct 27, 2006.

1. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

I'm a novice to wireless networking and how all the components of Airport work. Am wondering if the DS - and speculating on the Wii, mainly - would be compatible as follows:

- I'm sure Airport Extreme (and Express?) stations would function as a wireless hub/router that Nintendo products could get a signal from, although I think I heard there have been hiccups in the past.

- How about Airport cards within a Mac? E.g., if I added one, could my Mac, physically ethernet'd to my DSL modem, serve as a bridge between modem and DS/Wii? I'd though Airport cards flowed only one way (station -> card), but I saw the contrary with Airport Express, and realized more generally that that can't be true.

I say all this b/c I see the price on Airport Extreme cards has fallen to $44 or so, and this could be an excuse for me to get one.

2. theman5725 macrumors 6502

Wireless routers are cheap these days so just pick one up. I have a Netgear router and it works great with my DS and my Macbook.

3. aidanpendragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

All of these are helpful, thanks. I actually have a wireless router/modem combo, but as I A. don't currently have an Airport card and B. live in a crowded building and don't want anybody leeching/snooping, I've disabled the wireless part. For the Wii, I've been left wondering if I should run an Ethernet cable & buy the adaptor, turn the wifi on sporadically, or attempt to master security/encryption protocols.

Thus my question about the Airport card - if it could serve as a bridge with fewer vulnerabilities, that would be a better solution. Plus, AirTunes seems cool, card prices have dropped, and it would be a good excuse.

4. bluewire macrumors member