No access privileges...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ThatGirl, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. ThatGirl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    ...on my own computer! This is not part of any business or network. This is a iMac G4, which I have been using at home, for several years. Suddenly, when it restarted, all of the folders on the desktop disappeared and it says I do not have access privileges to open the desktop folder.

    I was planning to copy off all of my documents, etc., before taking it in because there seems to be other harddrive trouble, but now this has occurred. How can I get back in to copy my files off?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    See if you can at least repair permissions. If you can't then try rebooting into whats called Safe Boot and then try repairing permissions. This is like booting into Safe Mode in Windows.

    Did you by chance have File Vault turned on? Maybe something got screwed up there.

    To boot into Safe Boot, hold the Shift key after the Mac Chime (the Bong upon startup).
     
  3. ThatGirl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Thanks for answering!:)

    I booted from the Jaguar disks, which is the system on the computer, and used the Disk Utility to repair permissions. It didn't make any difference. It still won't show anything from the desktop. It says I do not have access privileges.

    I don't know what File Vault is. This is actually my Dad's computer, and anything is possible. I can usually bail him out of whatever trouble occurs, but this one is beyond my knowledge.
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Is their more than one account that maybe you signed onto another one or it is doing it itself?
     
  5. ThatGirl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Hi, thanks for responding!

    No, there is only one account on there. My son told me to try logging out and then logging back in, but that also did nothing.
     

Share This Page