No Airport after Wakeup

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Jeewhizz, May 6, 2004.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Once i wakup my PB after its been sleeping, every now and then, there is no airport signal. I have to turn airport off and then on again for it to get a signal. Does anyone know why this is?

    Cheers,

    Jee
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    sonofslim

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #2
    are you using the most recent Airport update? (check Software Update to see if it wants you to install a newer Airport utility.)
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    What router are you using? I have the same issue using the D-Link DI-624 on a new 12" 1.33 PB.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    i am using the latest airport update, and using the linksys WRT54G router... its a random occurence, but sligtly annoying...

    Jee
     
  5. chw
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    I had the same thing happen to me yesterday. It wasn't waking up but on boot up. For some reason no Airport. :confused:
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    sonofslim

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #6
    so am i. i used to have that problem almost every wake, but that was a few airport utility revs ago. do you have your location set to a custom setting, or the default? sometimes the default auto-detect isn't so great.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    #7
    Whoa, I thought this was only me, so I ignored it. Since I think AirPort 3.3, it has been happening to me (may be 3.4, I dont remember). I am using the AirPort Extreme base station. The way I got it to work, is I have to manually reconnect it to the router by clicking the airport icon, then click 'Other' and retype my stuff.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I have it connecting to a specific network SSID - and it works sometimes, and other times doesn't :(

    Jee
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    mcadam

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    københavn
    #9
    i have the exact same problem on the network at home - but not at my university... so i guess it doesn't depend on my computer, but on the network!?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #10
    This solution seems to have fixed the problem on my computer:
    In the Network Preferences, choose to show AirPort.
    Then, choose to join your a specific network by default, choose your Network, and enter your password. I have my network using WEP Password security, and now that I have the password entered into the System Preferences, my computer automatically connects when starting or waking up.
     

Share This Page