NO AIRPORT FOR NEW DUAL CORE G5s IN NEW ZEALAND!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by chad_bryant, Nov 27, 2005.

  1. chad_bryant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #1
    Just wanted to get this off my chest.

    I purchased a Dual-Core 2.3GHz G5 a few weeks ago. (In New Zealand)

    I tried to order an Airport Extreme Card for it at the time of purchase.

    I was told "we don't have any but you could buy one from any Apple reseller for $...... and put it in yourself"

    I did this and found out the hard way that it doesn't work.

    After serching Apple support page found an article stating this.

    Went to return the Airport Card and the Apple Reseller didn't believe me, thought I didn't know what I was talking about.

    To make a long story short, I still do not have the proper Airport/Bluetooth card, nor does any Apple Reseller in New Zealand.

    I can't believe that Apple would ship the new Macs without having the New Airport Cards available.

    And I can't believe I had to tell the "Apple Experts" what the deal was.

    Thanks for reading this, I feel a little better.

    Still waiting for the Airport/Bluetooth Card
     
  2. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    Well, as you know the port for the new wireless module for these G5s doesn't fit an airport extremem card. That's because it houses bluetooth also, with the antenna leads for both. You need to order this part form a service provider, as of posting I haven't seen any come into our store.
     
  3. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #3
    I'm surprised they don't ship with an Airport Card. Hopefully you'll find something to work.
     
  4. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #4
    I agree, the powermacs should ship with AE/BT, i dont understand why apple leave them as an option,

    SHadow
     
  5. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I thought they were regarded as workstations, and as such, would be connected via ethernet, or as servers hence the dual ethernet ports.
    That's what I've been led to believe anyway.
    But I do agree it seems strange.
     

Share This Page