No Audio Apple TV 2 and 2006 Sharp LCD

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jctivo, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #1
    So I am having a great time with my Apple TV 2 with my new 2011 Sharp LCD.

    I wanted to watch something in another room tonight so I physically moved the Apple TV 2 to a new room with tv 2006 Sharp LCD. But I didn't get any audio.

    I'm not using the same hdmi cable (hard to remove it because it's mounted so tightly).

    Any ideas?
    Sharp LC-40C37U from 2006 and Costco

    I haven't come up with an elegant HDMI streaming solution yet.

    Thank you for all of the help,
    jctivo
     
  2. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Just have to recheck your connections, reseat them and also check for any damage to them.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    ok thanks.

    I will try it. Unfortunately, the tv is really wedged in so getting the hdmi cable in/out is really difficult.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #4
    Go to settings, then audio & video, then ensure that your audio output is set to auto. I think dolby digital and HDMI output should also be set to auto.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    Another possibility is that you're using the HDMI port that has the option to use the auxiliary audio connection (useful when connecting a DVI device). On my Sharp, there's a menu "toggle" for that HDMI port to go to/from HDMI audio and aux audio.

    ft
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    I will try that

    Thanks.

    When I hook up a laptop via hdmi to the tv, it works so I was confused why the apple tv 2 might not.

    I will try looking in the settings tonight.

    jctivo
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #7
    thanks

    I changed a few audio settings on the apple tv 2 like 16 bit audio and it worked.

    Not sure which one did it but it worked.

    thanks.
    jctivo
     

Share This Page