No Audio

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by superericla, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #1
    Recently when starting up my computer into Lion I have had problems with sound not being present. The startup chime does make noise, yet any videos and music played will produce no sound. Anybody have a clue how to fix this without reinstalling Lion? I'm using a 2011 base 15" MacBook Pro if that helps any.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    Any programs you have set to run at startup? What are they? do they work perfectly with Lion?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #3
    The only program I have set to run at startup is iTunes Helper which was automatically set to start at login.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #4
    heya,

    I also had issues with Lion DP2 (with update) and sound.

    The system was fine for a while, then all of a sudden, sound seems to break.

    iTunes wouldn't start, giving me the error:

    Code:
    The iTunes application could not be opened. An unknown error occurred (-200).
    There was no sound in MPlayer (Video Player), Jitsi (VoIP Client) or in Flash (Chrome or Safari). However, there is sound in QuickTime, strangely enough.

    I had to do a full reformat to fix the issue *sigh*, did it once before, had to do it again tonight. (An attempted time machine restore left me with a broken machine, lol, hence the reformat).

    It would be nice to know what the root cause is.

    Cheers,
    Victor
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    #5
    Same with me

    I'm having the same problem here. No iTunes + no sounds on internet videos or some apps. :(

    Not happy.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #6
    I ended out just reinstalling. I suppose it's a somewhat common issue since that perfectly describes what was happening.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #7
    heya,

    Hmm, yeah, it is incredibly annoying *sigh*.

    Hopefully Apple will release an updated Lion Developer Preview soon...lol. DP3?

    Still not sure what's the trigger for this issue - my install of Lion is fine for a while, then suddenly the sound breaks.

    Apps I have installed:

    • Google Chrome (Dev)
    • Growl
    • Dropbox (Forum Build)
    • Mplayer
    • Skype
    • Jitsi
    • Java Runtime (For Jitsi)
    • Tranmission

    Do other people experiencing this issue have any of them installed? Hmm. Or it may just be a random thing.

    Cheers,
    Victor
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #8
    Same problem on a Mac Pro 2010. Connected via HDMI to a Pioneer amp.

    The whole Sound sub-system seems to be quite buggy in the 444 build.

    Chris
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
  10. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #10
    Do your speakers still show up under sound settings in system prefs?
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #11
    Yes, internal and external Speakers are visible in system prefs.

    It looks like a QuickTime Player-Component is broken. When I start iMovie I get a message like: The QuickTime-Components are broken. Please reinstall.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #12
    It makes troubleshooting easy when you are told that something is broken :D
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #13
    Well, I think this is a now known issue as it seems that enough people know about it around the table, hopefully! I sure hope we see a fix for this stinker within the next few days. Seems that some people are having some luck killing coreaudiod, while other blokes aren't.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #14
    heya,

    It just happened to me again.

    This is with a fresh install of Lion (10.7) DP2, and the two updates to it as well (1Gb for each update) *sigh*.

    You'd think Apple would have nixed this issue in the second update to DP2. Anyway, guess I'll have to do another reformat and reinstall...again.

    Cheers,
    Victor
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #15
    Well interesting, I did not see this error on DP2 1st update, only in this 2nd update.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #16
    Workaround

    Hey! Had the same problem. Booting the safemode (press shift while starting) and restart solves the problem on my mac.

    My single steps:
    shutdown
    restart in safemode
    login
    open iTunes (what a surprise it didn't work ;) - but it started)
    reboot
    login and everything is fine, now

    regards,
    casi

    ps english isn't my native language - don't be mad with me :)
     

Share This Page