No automatic refresh in Desktop or Trash?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KidVicious, Aug 14, 2006.

1. KidVicious macrumors newbie

KidVicious

Hello,

My new Macbook Pro came in the mail today and I've been having some problems. Since I've never used a mac before, I really don't know my way around the interface. That said, I've noticed a minor annoyance when it comes to browsing the computer.

Firstly, whenever I download or save anything to the Desktop, whether it be through Firefox or GarageBand, etc., the file doesn't actually show up on the desktop. I came to figure out that the only way I can access the file is to use Spotlight or the Finder's search feature to search for it. Even when I browse to the Desktop directory within the Finder, the directory appears empty until I perform a search, at which point the Desktop finally refreshes to show the file.

Second, the same problem seemingly plagues the Trash directory. When I click on the "empty trash" command, the computer makes the "emptying trash" sound and closes the window, but the Trash icon in the Dock remains full. Furthermore, when I click the icon to reopen the Trash window, all of the files that were in the Trash before are still there, but when I go to click on them one by one, they disappear.

This little problem is proving quite frustrating for me, does anyone know what is happening or how to solve it?

2. Frisco macrumors 68020

Congrats on your new MBP! And welcome to Mac.

Your problems seem very weird and as you said frustrating.

I think the best thing to do would be to perform a fresh installation of OS X with the software restore DVDs that came with your computer.

Please let us know how your problems get resolved.

3. KidVicious thread starter macrumors newbie

KidVicious