No coverflow in iTunes?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Xilmwa, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #1
    Ok, I recently upgraded my PowerMac G4 to Leopard. It is the Graphite Model, except with a 1.4 GHz processor upgrade and 1.38 GB of RAM.

    In Tiger, I could use coverflow just fine in iTunes. Even fairly fast. Leopard is letting me use coverflow in Finder, but not iTunes.

    So, what's going on?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #2
    open up iTunes and press :apple:+shift+3 and then post the screenshot , maybe I can help you from there.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
  4. macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #4
    Hmmm.. a few more questions

    1) What kind of Graphics card to you have?

    2) have you tried reinstalling iTunes or downloaded a new version?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #5
    It still has it's original ATI Rage Pro 128 with 16 MB of VRAM, which I expected was the problem, except for the fact that I can do this:
    [​IMG]
    at full speed.

    Answer to number 2, no I haven't tried reinstalling, however, I upgraded to iTunes 8 along with Mac OS X 10.5.6 yesterday.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #6
    I do believe that leopard has no problem with coverflow in finder with that gfx card even if it is sluggish, but iTunes may be a different story. The ATI Rage cards might not meet the requirements for the newest version of iTunes. Try using and older version of iTunes

    http://mac.oldapps.com/itunes.php
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #7
    Well, that's just it. I was running iTunes 8 with coverflow perfectly fine on Tiger, only after I upgraded did I start to see a bit of problem.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #8
    I kinda feel bad I am the only one helping you. I am trying my best.

    I would do a direct download from the apple website of iTunes. Sometimes getting updates from the automatic updater can be problematic. It that does not help, I am out of ideas other than buying a little bit better graphic card:(

    also this may be a new bug in version 10.5.6 of Leopard
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #9
    I did try downloading straight from Apple just a few minutes ago.

    Oh, I would love to get a new video card, but I don't know if it would be compatible.

    Obviously, I would need one with Mac firmware, however, the video card I have has been flashed by some Sonnett utility whenever the processor upgrade was put in, so yea, I'm not 100% sure how to do that.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #10
    I did the update today as well, and mine is doing the exact same thing.

    I'm on a hackintosh, though. Figured that might be the problem. If you're on a Mac, and having the same problem...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #11
    There are variables for that.
    What is your video card (especially VRAM)
    What is your Processor?
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Just throwing a random idea out there, but does iTunes still recognize that the cover art is there? I mean, does it show it to you in "Get Info" or in the lower left cover art pane?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #13
    Well, it never did recognize most of it because most of it wasn't there, however, the ones that were are still there in grid mode.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #14
    Intel Integrated 64mb VRAM, on a 1.6 Duo-Core.

    Every album still has it's cover art (I'm kind of anal about it), it shows in grid, and the preview, on the iPod, and iPhone. Just not in iTunes Coverflow.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #15
    Cover flow and ATI cards

    I also recently upgraded to iTunes 8.02 and 10.5.6. Coverflow used to work fine prior to the upgrade.

    I have an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro card and have researched the problem online. It seems with iTunes 7 PC users had a lot of problems with hardware acceleration. Apple discussion has been useless so far.

    I'm beginning to think it's the video card. Not the card really but apple's coding for itunes and how it interfaces with the video cards. Just my theory . . .
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    So from your research, does everyone who has that ATI card find that they can't get coverflow, or just some people (which would suggest some changeable intervening factor)? It seems odd that Apple would be selling a card that would miss a fairly heavily advertised feature of iLife and just ignore it.
     
  17. macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #17
    I had this problem a while back. It has nothing to do with the video card. It has EVERY thing to do with the itunes folder.

    I had to delete iTunes and reinstall it. Then, from a back up copy, reimport it to get the covers back. Some how, I had trashed the original one through iTunes "Get Album Art Work" it changed things and then the screensaver quit working. After reinstalling it, and using the back up, all is working again.

    If you look at your own snapshot, it gives you the answer. iTunes is unable to browse.. Which means it can't FIND the covers.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #18
    Oh, Core 2 Duo. You should be completely fine. That's like a Mac without Apple EFI.

    Yes, but can you use Coverflow? Here's mine in Grid:
    [​IMG]

    See, that's just it. Here's a picture of dad's PowerMac G4. Same specs, except 450 MHz with....I dunna, but less than 1GB of RAM doing Coverflow in iTunes.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. macrumors regular

    basaltfd

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    #19
    any ideas for windows xp user 8.0 missing cover flow
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #20
    Processor speed, graphics card, and RAM?
     
  21. macrumors regular

    basaltfd

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    #21
    320gb
    2gb memory at 677mhz
    intel core 2 2.2 ghz
    dell vostro
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #22
    Shouldn't be anything wrong. Try reinstalling iTunes.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    basaltfd

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    #23
    i just did missing some still
    i used tuneup companions 1.1........... to get some of them but im missing like 5 more covers
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #24
    Well, here's another shot of cover flow on mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #25
    You mean "Grid", right?



    Another question: For the folks having this issue, does the visualizer work, or just a blank screen?
     

Share This Page