No Dashboard with 10.4.4

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by simon-says, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. simon-says macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    #1
    Well I figured I shouldn't have updated to 10.4.4 but I did anyways. Now there is a few things broken and the main thing is Dashboard. It will not even begin to load or do anything. In fact if I press F12 which Dashboard is mapped to I just get a system beep. The system is the Powerbook in my sig.
     
  2. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    This sounds unusual. I updated and everything's fine. Have you tried repairing permissions. Or did you have any 3rd party apps running that might muck things up?
     
  3. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #3
    A question

    Did you have any external devices hooked up at the time of the update?

    If so they can cause various issues whilst running the update.

    :cool:
     
  4. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #4
    ^^this shouldnt cause a problem, i always have my shuffle, nano, ipod and external HD hooked up whiles im updating....try repairing permissions


    Bless
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    You've probably already done this but it's worth a mention. Have you checked to make sure the updates didn't re-map your F12 key in System Preferences? :)
     
  6. simon-says thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    #6
    There was nothing running during the update, I closed everything out. The only non-Apple software I've ran has been Starcraft and Colloquy. I had no external devices hooked up at the time. I've checked System Preferences and it's still mapped to F12. Never had to repair permissions before, and I don't know where that's at.
     
  7. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #7
    try mapping it the a different key. try installing a new widget. Try opening widgets through the widget opener thing in the dock.

    If these steps fail, then I would advocate eating some carrots and waiting for someone else to come up with a better idea. Don't say "what's up doc," though. That would be too cliche.
     
  8. simon-says thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    #8
    It won't do anything if I map to another key, just the same thing. I've also tried to open it from /Applications/. Nothing. I can't figure this out. It's really making me mad.
     
  9. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #9
    Download the 10.4.4 update from the apple website and run it again. see if that works

    On a side not about external drives/devices plugged in. I had my iPod pluged in when i did the update and after the restart it refused to mount. I got the little spinning "do not disconnet" thing but nothing happened. I ended up pulling it out of the base station and doing a reset. Kinda scared me but everything is good now. Also it asked me to plug it into a wal outlet this time. The other updates never had me do that. Oh well, it is all working here.

    Hope you get yours fixed
     
  10. simon-says thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    #10
    Tried the 10.4.4 update from the Apple site and still nothing. From terminal it looks like I have permission to at least run it.

    $ ls -al | grep "Dashboard"
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Apr 28 2005 Dashboard.app

    I've made duplicates and chmod'd them differently and nothing.

    If I try to run a widget from my /Library/Widgets directory the dock crashes and restarts itself. Do you guys have any clue what to try next?
     
  11. jenmarsh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #11
    Have you tried deleting Dashboard's plist file?

    Do a Spotlight search for "dashboard plist", mine found two:

    /Users/name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dashboard.plist

    and

    /Users/name/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dashboard.client.plist
     
  12. simon-says thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    #12
    Yes, I deleted both and I repaired permissions. Still nothing.

    I was able to run Dashboard if I created another account, but I still can't get it to work on my account.
     

Share This Page