No Data Plan once 2 yr contract expires?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by scotland007, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #1
    My wife has a 3GS that her contract is up this May. She will be moving up to a new iPhone however since the contract will have expired on the 3GS (ATT pockets full), could this phone be handed down to one of our kids without the data plan since the contract has been fulfilled?

    I know ATT can tag the IMEI and force the data plan but just wondered if anyone has got round this once the contract is over?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    I'm pretty certain all iphones, regardless of contract status, require a data plan.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #3
    I think theonly way to skirt the data plan is to cancel the line and get a prepaid sim. Logic would say after contract expires you SHOULD be able to get any plan but cell companies dont really subscribe to logic when it comes to them losing money :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #4
    There is a way, at least it has been working on one of my lines on an iPhone 3G for almost 3 years now (1.5 years on contract and the rest out of contract). I must mention though that the iPhone 3G itself was bought off eBay to use on a line that was already on contract with an AT&T dumbphone.

    Insert the SIM in a dumbphone, call AT&T and request them to restrict all data on that particular line (there is no charge for this). Check on the dumbphone if you can still access data and after you confirm that you cannot, reinsert the SIM back on the iPhone and voila.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    OP - All the posters are assuming you want the iPhone to function as a an actual phone. I notice you didn't say that for certain, though.

    If that's what you wanted then listen to them. But if that's not the case and you really just want it to be an iPod then you can cancel the contract, put it in airplane mode, and keep using it as an iPod Touch forever.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #6
    The canceling all data strategy doesn't always work. They still added the data plan to my wife's 3G after a few months.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #7
    Thanks Guys, yes the intention is still to use it as a Phone, she is 12 so i want to limit her to Phone and Wifi only.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #8
    I think prepaid sim is the way togo then, can you unlock it?
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #9
    Get a GoPhone SIM and make it into a GoPhone. I do this with my littler sister and pay about $15 a month for unlimited text and just 10¢ a minute, which she doesn't talk that much. I don't buy her data.
     
  10. macrumors G5

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    This is my understanding as well.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #11
    The last time I looked at prepaid sims was 2 years ago, back when it didn't work on iPhones. They do now?
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #12
    My sister currently uses an iPhone 3G with a GoPhone SIM, it works perfect. All you need is the SIM, no jailbreaking or altering required.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #13
    Thanks for the clarification. I'm guessing you can cut the prepaid SIM down and get it working in an iPhone 4 also?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #14
    I'm guessing you could do that. I don't think there are any GoPhone phones that support a MicroSIM so I think cutting down a normal one would be the only choice. However, it might be worth asking AT&T to just give you a MicroSIM activated with a GoPhone.
     
  15. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Same here.
    They will detect you're using an iphone without an iphone data plan and they will send you a message that the appropriate data plan has been added to your account.
    Only way to avoid it is to go prepaid gosim or unlock it and use it on tmobile.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    Was this recently implemented by AT&T? I've bought iPhones on MR or EBay and used them with my AT&T account without being put on a data plan. Since I have wifi network majority of the time, I never wanted to pay for a data plan.

    I did disable cellular data though, maybe that prevents it from happening? My wife has a iPhone 2G currently with no data plan attached, also data disabled (maybe I should double check our account!)
     
  17. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    It has been happening since last summer to alot of people. They dont do it with the iphone 2G but with 3G, 3GS and i4 once the system does IMEI scans and detects it then it adds the data plan and sends you a text.
    Some have got away for months others got caught sooner. Try at your own risk.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    Gotcha, thanks. I am actually on a plan now anyway so it's no longer an issue for me.

    The cheap 200MB/month plan works fine for me (even though it's poor value per MB), I get the benefit of push email, GPS maps, etc. and the occasional web browsing, and I have never gone over 200MB.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #19
    My AT$T contract ends on Monday and I'm looking to dump the data plan as well since I'm usually near a wi-fi connection (have a 3G). Is it possible to just renew w. AT&T, ask for a free phone that requires no data plan and then just put that sim into my old 3G w. the 3G, cellular data, and data roaming switched to off? Thanks.
     
  20. macrumors 68030

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #20
    Nope... they will still tac a data plan on your account when they see you're using an iPhone.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #21
    sucks - but thanks for the quick reply....
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Apple 26.2

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    Until you cancel it, the plan will continue as normal except that it'll be on a month to month basis.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
    #23
    Also, no need to renew (and be subject to a contract).

    2 options:

    1. get a used dumbphone from CL, get the data block and then try to get by with that. some have reported success.

    2. port your number to gophone, then put that SIM card in your iphone. No data required for gophone
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #24
    good idea - gonna drop my SIM into my old motorola and get the data block turned on tuesday. worth a shot. thanks very much.
     
  25. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #25
    I would also use a custom APN from this website so data is turned off on your phone side too-

    http://iphonenodata.com/site/

    I always used this just to make sure I wasn't racking up data charges. Maybe it could help prevent AT&T detecting you have a smartphone and automatically applying a data plan to your account, I don't know. No harm in using it though-
     

Share This Page