No facetime on ATT individual plan?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kashyap02004, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #1
    I just switched to att and got iphone 5. I have an individual plan. I am trying to do face time and it says "Please enable cellular or wifi network."

    Phone is already on LTE. I also tried with LTE disabled.
    Does anyone know whats the problem here?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #2
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #3
    You need a shared data / family plan. I am in the same situation You cant have cellular facetime on a unlimited data plan .
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #4
    Oh Man. I am just a poor student. I don't have unlimited plan. I have an individual 3GB plan (only one line). I am already paying $95 a month. I can't afford my bill to go any higher. I guess after this shared ********, people like me who have individual plan have to suffer the most.


    BTW i only use ~700 MB of the 3GB plan. Why can't they just let me use my data to make the facetime call. I mean how much more do they want from me.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #5
    They refuse to upgrade their data network to handle Facetime calls, I believe a Skype video call can be done as a workaround though, although it's nowhere near as convenient.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #6
    Of you have an iPhone 4 or 4s on iOS 5 you can jailbreak & get FaceTime over cellular
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #7
    I understand that they can't handle all that traffic. Didn't they get rid of the unlimited data plan to resolve that issue? And whats the point of 3GB limit then. It doesn't mean anything to me because I still have 2GB left and I can't use it for facetime. Even though I paid for all 3GB data.

    ----------

    Oh really? how about iphone5?
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Could just drop the data down to a 1 or 2gb plan so you can pay less
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #9
    They don't have 1 or 2GB individual plans. The one step below 3GB is 300MB which is not enough for me. That is another annoying thing about it.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #10
    No
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    KittyToy

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando
    #11
    U should of went with Verizon, because everyone knew before the iPhone 5 even came out that AT&T wouldn't allow FaceTime over cellular!
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    im glad I left AT&T but sorry to hear about your situation. Did you try looking for jobs on campus?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #13
    Facetime takes up a lot more bandwidth than say, simple mobile internet browsing (which is what the networks were built for) - the original networks didn't take smartphones and video calling into account as they didn't exist in a great capacity and were generally pretty bad. AT&T need an update of their infrastructure which they refuse to pay for...

    An iPhone 5 jailbreak should be with us within a few months, you might be able to bypass it then :)
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #14
    Watch the FCC force them to allow it on all plans once the complaint is heard.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #15
    I work 30 hours per week as an intern at an electronics company. Can't name it here. And go to school full time.
     
  16. fsck-y dingo, Oct 28, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #16
    I'm a low data user too. My billing cycle just ended and I only used about 500 MB. I have the 1 GB share plan, for just myself, which gives me enough data for my needs. It includes unlimited texting and talking, tethering for when I want to use my iPad on the road and FaceTime over cellular. I don't use FaceTime very often but it's nice to know I can when not at home.

    Including taxes I pay the same amount per month as you. It's working well for me, so far.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #17
    Oddly enough my buddy facetimed me while i was in the car. I was able to answer the call and Facetime. I DO NOT have a shared plan, I have an individual plan... :confused:
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Since you are a student, see if you qualify for FAN discount. It's a percentage off the bill or a portion of the bill each month. (The percentage varies depending on which FAN)
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #19
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    #20
    Maybe you have Verizon or Sprint??
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #21
    Well you are not alone. That's the argument and complaint going to the FCC against AT&T. There are a lot of people like you suffering from AT&T's strategy. It's not just the individual lines, family plans suffer the same issue. Even with Data Share plan it still does not make sense for a lot of family plan holders like myself. It is what it is. Just wait until FCC to step in to see if AT&T will change.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #22
  23. macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #23
    Just use Skype. They allow calling over 3G. Getting Facetime over 3G isn't worth losing my unlimited data for.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #24
    Go to the 1gb mobile share plan. It will work for just 1 line, you'll get it for $85/tax And FaceTime over 3G
     
  25. macrumors demi-god

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #25
    What if you have 2 lines and the other line is a dumb/simple phone? According to that chart it's also the same price. That doesn't make sense.

    ----------

    Agreed. Never once have I said that I wish I was near WiFi so that I could initiate a FaceTime call. Even if I did change, it also depends on the person I am calling and their plan.
     

Share This Page