no mac viruses?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by nature girl, Sep 12, 2004.

1. nature girl macrumors newbie

Sep 12, 2004
    i'm new to mac's. so just to clear this up, there are no mac viruses? why is that? :p
  2. dotnina macrumors 6502a

Aug 19, 2004
    Since so much of the world uses Windows, it's not generally worth a virus writer's time to write something to affect a Mac.

I believe there was a proof-of-concept virus a few months ago that an anti-virus company created? Anyway, if I remember correctly, it was really silly, and anyway Apple quickly sent out a patch.

You might still receive viruses in your e-mail, and if you send them out you could affect your friends who run Windows. But you? You are immune.

Welcome to Macintosh. :)
  3. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

Feb 2, 2002
    No, none for OS X. There is one concept virus, it's not a real virus by any standard and was never "released", but it's exploit has of course been patched. Some people (Apple, for instance) say OS X is impervious to viruses because it's so ultra-secure... while some claim it's because so few people use Macs, virus writers have no initiative to write any. I think it's a mix of the two... certainly OS X is more secure than Windows, but it has had occasional vulnerabilities that *could* have been attacked, but weren't... they were generally patched by Apple in short order. Meanwhile Windows vulnerabilities have lain open and exposed for months or more before being patched. We're starting to see evidence that the government is interested in OS X for it's security, and the army moved it's servers to Macs a few years ago for security purposes.

4. nature girl thread starter macrumors newbie

Sep 12, 2004
    this is awesome! i LOVE this!! :D

so i guess i don't have to worry about spyware or anything of that sort?

before i sold my pc laptop, i spent hours cleaning the virus and spyware on it... i'm glad i got a mac!! :)
  5. stoid macrumors 601

Feb 17, 2002