No More Target Mode for New MacBooks

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15,835
    #1
  2. Moderator

    yellow

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    15,921
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Oh crap.. really? I didn't think about that with the loss of FW400. It doesn't work with FW800?

    This is critically good help in troubleshooting! Damnit! :mad:

    EDIT: silly me.. I was thinking MBP. Still.. kinda lame to do away with such a useful tool.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    #3
    The MacBooks don't have firewire at all.

    The FW800 is on the Pro model.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    London
    #4
    but if it has network migration, surely its just as easy but faster through an ethernet then?!?!, the problem with migration on the air was that it just had wireless, but on the macbook this shouldnt be a problem.
     
  5. Moderator

    yellow

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    15,921
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yes. Already had edited when I noticed that.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Target Disk mode is really more useful for data recovery than anything else, and perhaps secondarily for things like installation, although really only in unusual conditions. I don't know how easy it will be to get the hard drive physically out of the new Macbook shell, but the data recovery one was the biggie -- you could often get data off a Mac with a fairly badly damaged logic board in target disk mode.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,778
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    I don't know about the MacBooks, but the hard drive in the MacBook Pro seems very easily removable.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Hopefully it stays easy -- as I understand it, it was incredibly easy in the old Macbook. That mostly obviates the major emergency use of Target Disk Mode.... One just needs to have some kind of caddy they can put it in, and at the worst, you can always get a cheap 2.5" USB enclosure for... $15 or something like that, I think?
     
  9. macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,857
    Location:
    Murka
    #9
    The new MacBook and MacBook Pro both have incredibly easy to access HDDs.

    A lack of TDM sucks though.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    TDM for upgrading to a new machine

    I used Target Disk Mode for the first time when I upgraded to my MacBook from my Cube back in July. I was AMAZED at how easy and seamless it was! I would've been ass out of luck if I waited and got the new aluminum MacBook. There HAS to be an alternative for porting over your settings from your old machine...
     
  11. macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    You can do it over ethernet.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    At home
    #12
    Not necessarily. You will need a gigabit network/switch to take full advantage of the gigabit ethernet port on the MacBook. If not, you are stuck with the 100Mbps ethernet connectivity vs the 400Mbps that firewire provided.

    Firewire will surely be missed. I really hope that Apple brings it back.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Saladinos

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,844
    #13
    I don't. I only ever saw one firewire device, and was simply annoyed that it didn't support USB.

    USB is evolving fast, and will soon become more ubiquitous than it already is. USB 3.0 and WUSB will make that you never care about lack of firewire, except for legacy devices.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    The South, USA
    #14
    I think it sucks that they got rid of the FW400 port, myself. TDM was very useful when I migrated to my iMac. I guess I'll just look for a Powerbook when my clamshell iBook finally dies (if it ever does!).
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    #15

    Any dvcpro, hdv, or dv device. Any audio interface worth mentioning. the IOI HD console (a must have for anyone using apples revolutionary pro res 4:2:2 codec), the list goes on and on, but the basic theme is almost anything that is way more expensive than your laptop runs exclusively on firewire. Firewire is a must have for professionals and even for the average imovie user.

    I understand that this is not supposed to be a "pro" laptop, but I will observe that the difference between the pro line and the consumer line is very small in this latest upgrade, and the macbook has always been considered more than just a "useable" alternative to indie-pros if your on a budget crunch. I almost feel as if firewire is "being held hostage" to make sure that creative professionals will pay the extra $700. Which is backwards from the way that the rest of these industries are moving, which is that people can do more with cheaper gear.

    As far as the consumer goes it seems to me that apple raised the price of the base macbook 200 dollars, removed its ability to be "useable" (although a bit slower, the macbook is by far the most widely used computer for indie to major label musicians) for any creative application, and then is just selling off the last stock of their earlier model for $100 cheaper to make it "feel" like they lowered the price when they actually raised it. The only thing that can rectify this in my opinion would be if the move is to make room in the lower price range for a low cost sub $700 "netbook" in the near future.

    If thats not the case then it looks like steve jobs just added cool new designs and some minor upgrades, raised the price of the consumer line, lowered the distinction between the consumer and pro line, and then is forcing us to pay $700 more to get a $25 firewire port that we need in order to connect to our professional gear, at the same time drastically reducing the average persons imovie and garageband experience.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Mainz, Germany
    #16
  17. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #17
    I haven't tried the ethernet-based migration assistant, but doesn't it support a direct / ad-hoc connection? Don't you get gigabit ethernet if you just take an ethernet cable and plug one end into each of the Macs? I've done this before with non-gigabit Macs, I'd assume it's the same?
     
  18. Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,226
    #18
    What was Apple thinking when they made this decision? Are they really that greedy and desperate for more money (people buying MacBook Pros more because of this maybe)?
     
  19. macrumors demi-god

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20,843
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #19
    This sucks. I also noticed that a lot the Apple Store external drives are FW only; I'm curious how this will play out.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,215
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #20
    Data transfer:
    Having used both methods first hand, yes you can use ethernet. But IEEE 1394 is effortless and in most cases faster.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #21
    all new consumer video cameras, at least at the apple store, seems to use USB 2 and not FW.

    Garageband is meant for consumers, and most consumer interfaces use USB. There are a few exceptions, like the Apogee Duet.

    It sort of makes sense. Most consumers don't need firewire anymore. People who shell out a lot of cash for Firewire-equipped audio or video equipment, will be able to afford a MBP, either by starving themselves or by being rich. Some people will just buy a PC, however.

    I would personally want a Macbook and an Apogee Duet, so I come out as the looser. Still, from Apples point of view, I can fully understand it.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    #22
    To be honest I use the FW port all the time on my macbook, so with my current habits I'd miss it should I upgrade.

    Apple are firmly drawing the line between consumer and pro devices here: Most uses of FW are for pro applications.

    The thing is, while the hardware has taken a large step forwards, the software I use hasn't. My macbook will continue to service me until that point, at which time I'll have to take the choice on whether to upgrade to a pro machine in order to run pro apps.

    I'm not over the moon that it's gone, but I understand the reasons why.

    As far as the hit to data and settings migration; that's hardly a time/performance/latency critical process and you don't do it every day.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,215
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #23
    Having just been in the Apple Collectors section I was remembering transferring files via serial cable. Now that was slow, but it was handier than hell at the time. Remember Apple Talk?
    Started using ethernet crossover cable after that, messing about with AAUI 15 port adapters. I'll bet something like that will show up, adapters I mean. Something made for the MacBooks specifically.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    #24
    Feels like most of this settings migration stuff would be better handled by the .me cloud, leaving physical connection for pure file transfer. Subscription is quite a large barrier there though.

    Still, it's working well for me after a HD upgrade. Old HD is in a USB2 enclosure; it wasn't my first choice but file transfer speeds are quick enough.

    A friend of mine used to talk about being able to run your Home folder from your iPod as being something coming up, you would just plug it in, boot the OS from the native disc but load the user from the iPod. Did this pass me by, or never materialise?
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    280
    #25
    Instead of Target, could you not use a Time Machine backup and restore it to a new Mac? Or am I thinking silly?
     

Share This Page