No OS 10.2 on Rage 128?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Wildcat, May 6, 2002.

  1. Wildcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    #1
    So does this mean that the os will not run on something with a rage 128 installed? ( such as the curent ibook?) This would kind of suck! But if it means great improvement I guess it must be done.
     
  2. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #2
    Re: No OS 10.2 on Rage 128?

    I believe they only meant that the new version of quartz won't work with the video card, meaning it will have to be handled exactly as it is today. The OS itself should run just fine on all machines that currently support OS X.
     
  3. spuncan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Location:
    Detroit
    #3
    Rage 2+ ?

    So It won't run on my Rage II+ G3 233 ha. I can run it now. Im starting to get used to the never ending spining beach balls :)
     
  4. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    I'm going to have to reconsider keeping my rev a TiBook now. 8MB of VRAM on a Rage 128 Mobility card just seems sad now...:(
     
  5. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #5
    I hear you exactly. I'm starting to think that perhaps i sould off-load my tibook pretty soon, before having to admit that it can't take advantage of the latest OS :(

    Still, virtually everyone's been sreaming for speed increases, and if this delivers, then so be it.
     
  6. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #6
    ya my dad was pretty pissed when he got a brand new LCD and he could only get thousands of colors on it using his tibook
     
  7. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #7
    And once again, us early adopters are left out in the cold. Thanks, Apple.

    I just bought a Radeon 7000 PCI graphics card for my G4 400 PCI, but aparently that's not good enough!
     
  8. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #8
    Same boat here. We are all on the S.S. Take it up the rear. I just bought two iBooks over the last three months and an iMac SE in December. Oh, well, thank God for ebay right.

    Steve Jobs said today.."We know you were wanting finder improvements, and for quartz to go throught the graphics system, so now it will. All you have to do is either have an AGP based G4 Tower, the new iMac, or the TiBooks that were release last week. Everyone else......"

    ;)
     

Share This Page