No Processor Performance Control on intel iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iBunny, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    I have a 20 inch intel iMac. I just noticed in the Energy Screen of prefs that I can no longer change if my CPU is on reduced / automatic / highest state anymore? Any info?
     
  2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #2
    That was a feature of the PPC chip, Intels do not have it.
     
  3. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #3
    I can confirm that this is also true for the Core Solo Mini. I guess Apple/Intel either haven't implemented this or don't think its necessary when running on a AC powered machine.
     
  4. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #4
    Intel chips do have the same thing actually. Intel used to call it "Speedstep", they may still do.
     
  5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #5
    On the PPC, you could pick Highest, Reduced, or Automatic. I'm pretty sure the Core Duo is always on Automatic (so to speak).
     
  6. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #6
    A little looking into this reveals that the Intel Core chips apparently now do the power saving CPU speed throttling fully automatically, so I guess Intel Macs are now fixed in the "Automatic" setting.
     
  7. iBunny thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Yeah, I know the Intel Processors have speedstep. I was just wondering if you could force the issue. I want to make sure my iMac is running at the highest possible setting all the time. Its not like I have to worry about battery life or anything like that. But whatever. Just wondering if it was my machine or all intel macs. Thanks
     
  8. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #8
    Looks like the answer to your question right now is: No.

    Kind of annoying really, I'm sure that Apple could implement this feature.
     
  9. mac000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #9
    you can download the developer tools off of apple's website and then you can mess with that stuff
     
  10. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #10
    Nah, CHUD options for Intel CPUs seem minimal.
     

Share This Page