No red monitor calibration trouble

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jazken71, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. jazken71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #1
    Hi there. Hoping someone can help me... I just reinstalled Panther on my dual g4 tower and for some reason, my Sony Trinitron Multiscan G500 CRT monitor freaked out to the point where there is a light green tint to everything and red is pretty much non-existent. I've fiddled with the monitor settings, tried to re-calibrate my display settings (via the "Monitor/Color" preferences), and even zapped my PRAM just for the heck of it. While it has helped a little bit, the problem still persists. FYI - when I turn off the monitor and turn it back on, the monitor shows a default red, blue, green indicator showing the proper colors, so I'm thinking it is a calibration problem and not a burned out monitor.

    It sounds like a simple enough thing to fix, but for some reason, I'm just not finding the solution. Can anybody help? Is this a ColorSync issue? I've never worked with that before so I am a complete newbie to ColorSync...

    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    This happened to me when my VGA cable isn't plugged in all the way or there's pressure on it. It also happened during a presentation when a MiniVGA-->VGA adapter I was using with my iBook went bad.

    Check your physical cable connections before doing anything else.

    If you don't solve anything with that, try another monitor. Or try your monitor on another computer.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Ditto the advice to make sure all cables are firmly plugged. Do you have any other monitors by any chance? What happens if you unplug it, and then plug it back in while the computer is running, and let it be auto-detected?
     
  4. jazken71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the quick response. Well, that would make sense... in reloading Panther today, I did add another hard drive too where I ended up unplugging everything the process. Well unfortunately, I just checked my cables and they are firmly secured. I just unplugged it and re-plugged it back in, turned the monitor off and on, and still no change. Is there a button that I need to press to make it redetect the monitor? Should I reboot?

    I do have another monitor that I can hook up but that will take a bit as it's currently being used.
     
  5. jazken71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #5
    Ok, I just swapped monitors and the new monitor worked fine (red never looked better), so it must be a cable problem. Thanks for the advice. Now if I can figure out how to make the cable work properly without having to replace the monitor (it's a cable that's attached).
     
  6. jazken71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #6
    Wait a second...

    Ok, I'm a little slow on the uptake today because I still have some questions that I need help answering.

    Here's the instant replay:

    1. I hooked up monitor #1 (the one giving me problems) to my pc using its cable. That worked fine. I could see red again.

    2. I hooked up my pc monitor (let's call it "monitor #2") to my mac using the cable that came with it (it's attached to the monitor). It worked fine too.

    Now here's why I'm left scratching my head... I had originally thought I had a faulty cable for monitor #1 or even a bad monitor adapter that attaches to the mac, but that since cable worked fine to connect that monitor to my pc, I guess I have to rule out it being bad. As for the adapater, since I was able to plug monitor #2 into it and it worked fine, I guess we can say that it isn't faulty either. I know someone is going to come back to me and say that I need to check to make sure that everything is plugged in securely, and I can honestly say that it is 100% attached.

    So, I'm back to where I started with. Can somebody help?
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Ugh. I'm sorry. :( To summarize...monitors 1 and 2 work fine on the PC. Monitor 2 works fine on the Mac, but Monitor 1 does not. Correct?

    Try this: Open System Preferences -> Displays -> Color tab -> select the "sRGB Profile" or the "Adobe RGB (1998)" profile if you have it. When you select the profile, you should see at least a moderate change in coloration. Hopefully, it will be a drastic change back to normal colors, because you have a corrupt color calibration file. See if this helps.
     
  8. jazken71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #8
    That's correct. I don't know why that would be but it is.

    As for selecting the sRGB Profile, I did that earlier and while there was a slight color shift, it didn't affect the reds at all. If it is a corrupt color calibration file, how can I fix it? I was so frustrated with this yesterday I even re-installed Panther a second time to see if that would do the trick, but alas it didn't.
     

Share This Page