iPhone No Service on iPhone 4 after redsn0w jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JoseIP, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #1
    I have updated my iPhone 4 (GSM) to iOS 5.0.1 with untethered jailbreak using redsn0w.

    I didn't unlock because I'm still in contract with the original carrier (Vodafone, here in Spain). I had previously jailbroken (but not unlocked) my phone.

    Now the phone is jailbroken in 5.0.1 but it says constantly No Service, the name of the carrier does not appear in "Settings", and "My Number" appears as "unknown".

    So I can't use my phone! Please let me know what I should try. My modem firmware, if that's of any use, is 04.11.08.
     
  2. eastercat, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012

    macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #2
    First, make sure the sim works by trying it on another phone.
    If it's not the sim, setup as new and redo the jb.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #3
    Also try popping the Sim back out and back in and resetting the Network. are you using redsn0w 0.9.10b4 the latest one?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #4
    I'm at home now, when my girlfriend gets back I'll try on her iPhone.

    ----------

    OK I've tried popped up the Sim out and back, and also resetting the Network... but it still says no service.

    Yes I did use the latest redsn0w 0.9.10b4.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I've not fooled with a GSM iPhone in a couple of years, well I guess a year. But, I don't see how the jailbreak could affect the BB or make the phone day no service. I've still got my old 3Gs and I've jb'd it and flashed 100 different firmwares on it and never had that except for occasionally but that is due to the iPad baseband. I would take the above posters advice and restore the phone, then re-JB. I don't see why that wouldnt fix it.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #6
    Thanks to you all for the help. When you say restore the phone, what kind of restore do you have in mind: do I need to restore to 5.0.1 or to an earlier OS? I presume I would have to do that from iTunes (option + "restore"), manually selecting the ipsw, right?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
    Correct I'd recommend setting up as new using d/l'ed IPSW, jb if you want to or not, then restore from backup.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #8
    OK I want to be sure I understand everything right. Let me know if this is what I should do:

    1/ restore in iTunes using a downloaded 5.0.1 IPSW
    2/ after it's restored: on the iPhone's "Set Up iPhone" page, check "Set up as new Iphone"
    3/ after that, jailbreak using redsn0w

    ...is that correct so far?

    And then how do I restore from backup? From the iPhone's "Set Up iPhone" page or from iTunes?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    1-3 are correct. After you jb, connect via iTunes, right click on your iPhone icon in left hand pane, restore from backup.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #10
    ^^ Thanks! The only problem is that the "restore" button in iTunes doesn't appear highlighted, so I can't click on it. It's written "restore" in light gray whereas yesterday it was written in black (it was working yesterday when I jailbroke my phone). Does anyone know why that is?

    By the way, I've been able to test my SIM card, it works fine on another phone, that's why I'm restoring.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
    Probably because its sees the phone as completely new and up to date without any backups present.

    That happens if you do restore and immediately jailbrak afterwards, somehow it chances the way itunes sees your phone.

    A solution might be to restore, than select to put you backup back from itunes, this wil make it "your" phone again. After that JB with redsn0w.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #12
    I have just installed tinyumbrella and I've used it put the phone in recovery mode, this way the "restore" button reappears in iTunes.

    So I tried to restore with a downloaded IPSW... but it won't restore, after a while I get a (21) error message. Any idea what I should do?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #13
    Guys, I managed to make it work!!!!

    I had to quit tinyumbrella to be able to restore.

    So now it's jailbroken and working fine (as a phone). Thanks so much to all of you who helped! I thought I was never gonna see the end of it, but in the end I'm happy it turned out well. :)
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    #14
    i am facing same problem ...please share me how u fix ur iphone???
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
  16. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    Your only unlock is an IMEI unlock
    You can only restore to 5.x.x if you saved the hashes
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #17
    I have the same issue on ios 6.1.3, any known fix to it??
     
  18. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    What's your problem? Please be more descriptive
     
  19. stardemos, May 3, 2013
    Last edited: May 3, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #19
    I just intall the 6.1.3 on iphone 4. Instaled cidya, ultrasnow and semitether. Put my sim in and no service. The pgone was locked to another contry... Unknown contry
    I live in portugal
    ----------
    Model mc603j/a

    Baseband 04.12.05
     
  20. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    I'm not too sure what the thread is about but according to the ultrasn0w page, that baseband isn't supported

    Did you restore your iphone 4 to iOS 6.1.3 using a no baseband custom firmware?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #21
    My bad... I'vr restored directly from apple.... It's possible to downgrade baseband?? How??
     
  22. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #22
    I don't think it's possible to downgrade the baseband but maybe things have changed that I don't know about since then
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
  24. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #24
    You can try requesting for a carrier unlock by contacting the carrier that the phone is locked to
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #25
    ok...
    I have an expensive and useless ipod with the shape of an iphone4....
    will search for a way to downgrade baseband... if exists I will post it.
     

Share This Page