No SIM Card Installed

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cycocelica, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #1
    So I updated to 1.1.3 and have no received a ton of problems.

    First, I was getting a weak signal when before, I had a strong one. Now the iPhone is telling me that there is no SIM card installed. Which blows my mind because the user doesn't install a SIM card, but whatever. How would you go about fixing this? Do I have to send it to Apple?

    I had tried restore and resetting everything. Nothing helps.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    make sure the sim is in correctly
    or take it back
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #3
    how do you get access to the SIM card?

    And

    Would this void my warranty?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    #4
    No silly, the SIM card is your authentication smartcard. Just take it out and put it back in. There is a tray on the top of the phone. Eject the tray, reseat the card, and put it back in.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #5
    Sim Card tray is in the top of the phone and has a very small hole on one edge. Use a paper clip pushed into the hole to release the tray.

    Does not void warranty, but handle with care as the tray is quite flimsy.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #6
    I have been having this same problem and removing and reseating the SIM card has not helped. It seems even worse after upgrading to 1.1.3. I also have far less or no service in areas I previously did. It appears to be fixed by turning the phone off and back on again, but I fear that may work against me for trying to get it fixed. I'm going to try to go the Apple Store today.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #7
    So I went to the Apple Store and asked about this. They cleaned out my SIM tray with compressed air and it appears to have fixed the problem. I was told that the tray itself is a contact for the SIM card so it won't function properly if its dirty. I was also told that if it didnt fix the problem, that they would replace the phone. Hope that helps.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #8
    nice! thank you. it worked for me. full bars and good to go.
     

Share This Page