No SN in 10.2.8

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macguymike, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. macguymike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    So far 10.2.8 has been running fine for me.

    The one "problem" I have is that I can no longer get my serial number by accessing "About This Mac" and clicking on the OS X version number. All I get is the build.

    This is slightly annoying. Anyone have any thoughts/solutions?

    I've tried crtl-clicking, cmd-clicking, optn-clicking.. nothing.

    :confused:
     
  2. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  3. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3

    Under "customer serial number"?

    There's only a "-" there.

    Plus it's less convienent. :p
     
  4. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #4
    mines there in 10.2.8 what kind of machine do u have
     
  5. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5

    12" PowerBook 867MHz Combo.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Mine is being displayed as well.

    Did you put 10.2.8 on top of a 10.2.7 beta?
     
  7. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Nope. Standard 10.2.7 from Software Update.
     
  8. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #8
    there was no 10.2.7 available to non-G5 users...
    i think you mean 10.2.6?

    Reality
     
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    you illegally copied your powerbook, didn't you? DIDN'T YOU? ADMIT IT!

    ;-)
     
  10. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Yes. You discovered my secret, evil plot... and now I am afraid I must destroy you. :D


    Right after I figure out who stole my serial number, anyway...
     
  11. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #11

    Uhm. Right. That. Thanks. :)
     
  12. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
  13. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #13
    screen shot

    I can't really show you that the SN doesn't show up on About This Mac, but here's the System Profiler (red arrow added by me, of course)...



    [​IMG]
     
  14. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
  15. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Yes. I had the combo drive replaced. But that was months ago and it was fine when it came back.
     
  16. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #16
    ok just making sure, sometimes when logic boards get replaced the serial goes bye bye on the computer and you only tell your serial by taking out your battery. I mean its not like you lost your serial forever, just take out your battery and look at the side.

    iJon
     
  17. Xapplimatic macrumors 6502

    Xapplimatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Problem solved...

    As with most Mac problems, the solution to this one is simple.. I had the same problem occur on my G3 iMac 400 after the update to 10.2.8.. All I did to fix it was this... Reboot and hold down Apple+Option+P+R until you hear the system chime at least twice.. when the OS loads back up, the serial number should be restored... This is a PRAM reset. I got the idea that this would fix it by reading AppleCare documents in Sherlock about serial numbers disappearing on some units under 10.1...
    and it worked for me..!
     
  18. airmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    #18
    Re: Problem solved...

    I think you wait till it chimes 3 times...
     
  19. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #19
    Re: Re: Problem solved...

    in reality, it should work with only one chime - the rule of thumb however is to wait for 3 chimes, just to be sure 'it really gets cleaned out'.

    so he'll be all good.

    man, pram zaps can solve a lot of strange problems... i remember talking to a guy on the mac support boards, and after he zapped his pram, his video card started working again (had only been getting lines). my mom's lc 575 wouldn't boot until i zapped the pram...

    anyways, i'm gonna stop rambling, as i'm at work and should probably be *working*

    matt
     
  20. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #20

    I had the logic board replaced also, but I could have sworn that it worked after that.
     
  21. macguymike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Re: Problem solved...




    Tried the PRAM zap, still no SN.
     
  22. Xapplimatic macrumors 6502

    Xapplimatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    California
    #22
    Re: Re: Problem solved...

    It's odd, but I'm inclined to disbelieve that it is either a hardware or an OS problem (in the sense that it is not specifically because of a bug in the OS)... more likely it is glitched data or a bad OS install (upgraded upon bad files).

    I upgraded my 12" PowerBook G4 (867 w/ 640 MB and Combo Drive) from 10.2.6 to 10.2.8 with no problems. First I logged into single user mode (command+s at reboot) and ran fsck -y from the prompt, rebooted, and then ran Disk Utility to fix permissions right before installing 10.2.8 to make sure that it had all stable 10.2.6 files to install over. Did you take those precautions first or simply install it? Apple doesn't tell you to, but it's been I don't know how many times on MacFixIt that computers where these two things were done first generally don't suffer abnormalities after the install of an OS upgrade..save weird driver conflicts.

    Now, back on track to fixing yours, have you tried the mother of all resets?? Deeper in the computer in the Open Firmware.... Do this carefully...

    1. Reboot into Open-Firmware mode
    (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=24605)
    Hold command+option+O+F in reboot.

    2. You will see the Open Firmware prompt which looks like this:
    Code:
    Apple PowerBook6,1 4.5.5f4 BootROM build on 01/14/03 at 13:44:26
    Copyright 1994-2003 Apple Computer, Inc.
    
    Welcome to Open Firmware, the system time and date is: xx:xx:xx xx/xx/xxxx
    
    To continue booting, type "mac-boot" and press return.
    To shut down, type "shut-down" and press return.
    
     ok
    0 > _
    3. Now to reset the Open Firmware...
    (Reset procedure for Open Firmware outlined in knowledge base article 42642)

    Code:
     1. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-nvram
     2. Press Return.
     3. At the Open Firmware prompt, type: reset-all
     4. Press Return.
    
    Example:
     0 > reset-nvram
     Press Return
     0 > reset-all
     Press Return
     
    The reset-all command should cause the computer to restart.  
    If this occurs, you have successfully reset the Open Firmware settings.
    If for any weird reason this doesn't happen, and you get another 0> prompt, try typing bye, shut-down or mac-boot to get out of Open Firmware then contact Apple about your defective firmware.. ;)
    Word to the wise:
    - Don't do anything else in open firmware mode other than specifically those directions unless you really know what you are doing..
    ... If THAT doesn't work, try running all the Unix maintenance scripts and deleting all the user and system caches (including swap file) with a utility like Onyx (free) or Cocktail or Jaguar Cache Cleaner.. in conjuntion with fixing permissions, then another reset with resetting PRAM...

    ! Don't forget that resetting the NVRAM or PRAM will reset most of your settings in system preferences as far as time/date/networking/startup options for volume, brightness, and startup disk etc..
    Be sure to fix your system date before you run any disk repair or file-altering utiltiies like fix-permissions.. as a precaution against bad dates on files.

    ... If THAT doesn't work.. then I would recommend reinstalling 'clean' from your highest Jaguar disk (10.2.7?) and doing the "combo updater" version of 10.2.8 when it becomes available again. For some reason, the combo updaters seem to have fewer problems than the sequential updaters.
     
  23. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #23
    I know what it has to be. You're setting your PowerBook too close to your Dell. The Apple is naturally protecting it's serial number from falling into the hands of the enemy since.
     

Share This Page