No sound in ANY browser

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Cali_Man, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. Cali_Man macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #1
    Very strange problem.... None of my browsers will play sounds (tested in Camino, Firefox, Safari, even Internet Explorer). Javascript is enabled too. Maybe it's a plugin problem? iChat and iTunes play sounds fine, Mail works great too.

    Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    Do you have Detour installed? If so, check its settings.
     
  3. Cali_Man thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #3
    Nope, no Detour. Tried a reset too, still nothing.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Standard troublshooting rules apply.. does it work if you log in as another user?
     
  5. Cali_Man thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #5
    Yeah, had to create a new user, but they didn't have browser sounds either (other system sounds were working though).
     
  6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    ... and you have sound in iTunes or in other applications? It's just the browser which is acting up?
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    :)

    Well, you can start by (quitting Safari/Firefox/whatever) and dragging all the crap from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/ out to some other (safe) place. Not sure if a restart is necessary, I don't think so.. Then trying a browser.

    Can you please point us to the website that should have sound so we can be sure it DOES have sound?
     
  8. Cali_Man thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #8
    Yup. iChat makes it's usual noises, Mail does too. I can get the unlock sound when playing with System Prefs too. For some reason any browser won't play sounds though.
     
  9. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #9
    Kay, thanks for the confirmation, as I have never encountered that one before (and yes yellow, I was just confirming with the guy :p ;))

    What exactly are you trying to view which isn't giving you audio? Have you tried a few different websites with a few different sources? How about, say, movie trailers from Apple's site for instance? Is this possibly something like RealPlayer content or WMA stuff which is giving you difficulties?
     
  10. Cali_Man thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #10
    You are correct Shard, it appears Apple's quicktime trailers do play sound. The sites I was testing out earlier were internet radio sites and some flash sites. Also interesting is that none of my .wmv play sound either, though the video works fine. I tried reinstalling Windows Media Player, but got the same results.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    The same thing happened to me. Flash movies and Windows Media Player just stopped playing all sound in ALL of my browsers. I just fixed itself though. I have no clue how either.
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    Kay, well at least we isolated your problem. Doesn't help you fix things, I realize, but at least it's a start...
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Updating Flash and reinstalling Windows Media Player doesn't work either. :confused:
     
  14. Simon Liquid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    Iowa
    #14
    sounds like something that happened to me

    Once I started having problems with sounds. System sounds worked fine, along with iTunes and anything having to do with Quicktime but a lot of programs didn't work-especially games. I ended up finding a setting that got switched somehow (apparently some programs do it automatically and don't switch back) in Audio MIDI Setup. In Audio Output, the "Format" got set to 96000 Hz which apparently many things don't support. If this is the case for you, try setting it to 44100 Hz and see if that helps.

    ps-Audio MIDI Setup is a program in your Utilities folder and is about the least helpful place to hide something to fix a crippling bug like this.
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    Alternatively, open Garageband and then quit it again to reset the core audio. :)
     
  16. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Fort Collins
    #16
    Garageband

    hrrm, reseting core audio by opening/closing Garageband worked like a charm. Wonder why Garageband resets CoreAudio.
     

Share This Page