No Sound in Classic Mode - Ideas?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ~Shard~, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #1
    Just a quick question - I recently tried firing up an old game using Classic mode, and there was no sound whatsoever. Could this just be the game, or is there something in Classic mode I have to do to try and enable audio?

    Also, I tried running the game in color, but the text wasn't displaying right - the mono version worked fine though - again, is this related to the game, or are there other settings I might have to fool around with? I'm new to using Classic, so any help would be appreciated!

    Cheers,
    Shard
     
  2. ~Shard~ thread starter macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #2
    One other question while I'm at it. Since I'm a newbie when it comes to using Classic mode, is there a way to enlarge the screen size when I'm running it? The game I loaded ended up running in a pretty small screen, it would be great if I could make it bigger. :)

    Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions!
     
  3. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Same thing happens with my version of Lemmings, did you check your Sound control panel?

    The image size is often down to the app, the audio is a system problem.

    How quickly we forget System 9...
     
  4. ~Shard~ thread starter macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #4
    The Sound control panel within Classic? Yah, I clicked on it, however it came back with the message, "That application or control panel is not supported by Classic." Any ideas?

    Looks like I'll have to get used to a small screen then... Thanks for confirming.

    To forget System 9, one would actually have to have known System 9. ;) OS X Panther is my very first Mac OS that I've learned on my own computer - before that it was my brother's Apple //e and then his Mac SE/30, but no System 9. :cool:
     
  5. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    I've had classic sound go out on me, I just reinstalled the classic environment and it fixed it.
     
  6. ~Shard~ thread starter macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    How exactly do you reinstall Classic? Sorry if it's a dumb question, I just really don't know much about Classic and this is my first time fooling around with it. :eek:
     

Share This Page