No sound in my Safari movie?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by eclipse, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. eclipse macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    Hi all,
    I'm using something called "Flip4Mac" within Safari to watch the cool Discovery video on the COOLEST form of solar energy, the solar chimney that does solar energy at night! (24/7, no kidding!)

    http://www.enviromission.com.au/index1.htm

    But my mac doesn't do sound? iTunes etc oK, but not flip4Mac.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #2
    open up garageband then close it. Try your movie now.
     
  3. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #3
    yep. strange fix... but it does work. i did it once and havent had problems since.
     
  4. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #4
    I couldn't be bothered getting my old working discs out and copied garageband out of my wife's G5, with the separate Libary folder as well.
    I opened Garageband, but the thing still dont' work.

    How do I set it up to download and run in some other software?

    I seem to have broken my "flip4mac".
    Sorry. thanks for the help. :eek:
     
  5. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    (Clarify) garageband works (cool, more software to learn!) but not the movie.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, what sort of Mac do you have and what version of QuickTime are you using? Is this the case with all WMVs or just this site you mentioned? :)
     
  7. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    It worked on my wife's G5, but not on my G4 450. (poor old thing, it turns 6 soon.)

    We both work in the latest OS, and I'm using Quicktime 7.1.2.

    Why am I using Flip4Mac? Is it converting the WMV's into Quicktime files?
    I don't think WMV's work on my mac.
     
  8. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #9
    2.1.0.33 ?

    I'm on the verge of giving up and just watching WMV's on my wife's computer. but it would be nice. I'm the peaknik campaigner, there's stacks of movies on www.globalpublicmedia.com and others and I'd like to be able to hear the latest on energy news, when oil is about to head permanently into decline, etc.

    (Sigh)

    I busted something somewhere.

    I've gotta go, I'll try reinstalling garage band from the disc and see if I can get things happening that way. See ya.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    To ensure it's not a corrupt preference file, try opening up a new user account first, and see if it works from there. It would be nice to get this working. :)
     

Share This Page