no viruses or spyware but what about addware?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lucface, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. lucface macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #1
    i saw stinkythe1's topic on spyware. it inspired my question:
    can you get adware on osx? i dont want any! but ive been getting lots of pop ups w/firefox lately.
     
  2. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    You've been getting popups in Firefox not because there's any adware on your machine, but because advertisers have found ways to circumvent the popup blocker built into Firefox. It's nothing locally on your machine.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I second what tobe says..

    Try using Safari instead of Firefox. I get virtually no pop-unders (and no pop-overs) using it's built-in pop-block.
     
  4. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #4
    Yes. Firefox is not a great browser at all. It might be free, but it's still buggy, slow, and annoying. Safari blows it away. Opera is good at blocking these things as well.
     
  5. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #5
    so am i rite to asume they cant run on my mac?[adware]
    and on the safari tip, i will start using safari again. but what about camino i heard that was pretty good. i want to give it a try.
     
  6. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
  7. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    I get better results overall with Firefox. Since it shares its engine with Netscape, most any site will work. It is still slow starting though, and that's my only complaint.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    I don't know if I'd say "can't", but to date, there's none (found) out there.
     
  9. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #9
    Netscape is trash, and takes way too long to load.
     

Share This Page