No wifi Icon showing on menu bar

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by donmash, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I got my son an Ipod touch, the second in the family. I have a running wifi network in my house.

    When I tried to set up my son's touch up everything works except there is no icon to show the wifi status and will not recognize any network. I have scoured the internet but only see wifi connectivity issues. When you try to put in the WEP password and network it doesn't recognize anything, no networks show under the "choose a network..." line.

    I have reset the ipod, I have tried dozens of times to get the network installed, but I think it boils down to the fact that it doesn't seem to have wifi at all. I don't see anyway to test the wifi or to turn it on other than through the Settings of the wifi under settings. My daughters is working perfectly.

    Anyone???

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #2
    That's very strange.
    I've sometimes experienced this with my iPod.
    I just recommend going to the Genius Bar at the Apple Store to see if they can help you.
    Maybe the iPod needs to be restored.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3

    Well I just got off the phone with Apple support and back it goes. I have restored the ipod, reset it. Nothing. Appears to be a problem with the antenna and its receiving ability. Everything else works. Now my son gets to learn about repair and will have to wait another 2 weeks before he can get to use the ipod.

    Thanks,
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    did you enable your ipod touch mac address inside your internet modem?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5

    Not sure what you mean? Please explain. This ipod does not see any network no matter where you go. If the antenna was working whether or not it was enabled shouldn't it at least see the network.

    I would be happy to try what you suggest, please elaborate for me.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #6
    On your router - are you using MAC address filtering? Or not broadcasting the SSID? Those might hinder getting online and seeing the network. I'm pretty sure that is what he was trying to say.

    I have wireless - and your ipt wouldn't see it when you walked in because i'm using both security features on my network.

    ALTHOUGH, if you are typing the WEP it should then pop-up - unless you are using the MAC address filtering.

    On one hand - maybe i'm glad Santa didn't drop off a new toy here, i'd be living the network "mess" and well, really, gee, i have too much stuff i HAVE to get done this week! LOL!!

    Good luck - if it has to go back here is hoping that it really doesn't take 2 weeks. Any chance you can drive to an Apple store?
     

Share This Page