non-Apple SSD in current Apple refurb MacPro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SendMoney, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    #1
    Can anyone please confirm if non-Apple SSD will work in the $1819 refurbished Mac Pro currently sold on the Apple website? It's the 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon MC560LL/A. I was on the phone with Crucial earlier and they said their SSDs would not work in that machine, which I thought was odd. I've read lots of posts on thie forum about cloning the OS/apps/etc over to an SSD, but is there something odd about what is currently being sold by Apple?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    There's no such thing as an Apple SSD. Apple doesn't make SSDs. Any SSD will work, as long as it fits and connects.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #3
    Any sata ssd will work
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    #4
    Sorry if I was unclear. I'm gonna buy an Intel 520 or Crucial m4 (not Apple SSD) and put it in the Mac Pro's HDD or optical bay. I just thought that what Crucial told me was very odd.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Not sure why they would say that unless
    a) the don't ship a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter with the SSD, which would be required to place it in the Mac Pro hard disk tray

    b) OS X will not enable TRIM unless you have a genuine Apple SSD in there, and they think this will affect long-term performance. I highly doubt this is the case, however since other manufacturers list their drives as "Mac compatible."
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    #6
    Looks like you have the MC560LL/A. Do you add an SSD?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    There are apple ssds
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #8
    I did buy the same refurb model listed in the op, and while I haven't added an ssd yet i do plan on it soon. Any SATA ssd should work, you just need a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter if you want it to fit in one of the hard drive bays.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    #9
    From doing lots of reading on this forum, I think I understand the TRIM issue, the use of an IcyDock (or equivalent) if installed in a HDD bay, the use of Carbon Copy Cloner (or equivalent) to do the transfer.

    I was just really thown for a loop by Crucial's comments.
     
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Apple may stick their label on them, but I've never heard of any SSD manufactured by Apple. I'd be very interested to know if you have additional information to prove otherwise.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    The place their firmware on all Apple OEM drives and they appear as Apple SSD in disk utility. When OS X sees this, it enables TRIM.

    They are outsourced to other manufacturers, just like their computers, and they place their firmware and logo on them.
     
  12. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    That's exactly what I thought. Thanks.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #13
    Ding ding! We have a winner!!!
     

Share This Page