noob question about running dual monitors from mac mini via HDMI

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jussha, Nov 4, 2012.

1. macrumors newbie

2. simsaladimbamba

Why not use the Thunderbolt port with an MDP to DVI or MDP to HDMI adapter instead of using the splitter?

3. thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks, i feel so stupid i didn't realize that mini display ports also fit in the thunderbolt port

4. macrumors regular

I'm new to MDP too. Question: is there a detriment to using HDMI port vs the MDP? The reason I ask is I'd like to keep the Thunderbolt/MDP port open for possible attachments/expansion down the line.

5. macrumors 68030

APlotdevice

An HDMi splitter would only mirror the image.

As long as the monitor is 1920x1200 or below you're fine. For higher resolutions you will need to use the TB port.

6. macrumors 6502

TB supports higher resolution than HDMI. The TB bus can be chained in a series. I have two monitors and a RAID array hanging off one TB port.

7. macrumors 68030

APlotdevice

Aye. Just if you're using connecting a DisplayPort monitor or adapter it must go at the end of the chain. Though this does bring up a slight problem in that some Thunderbolt devices do not provide a pass-through, as so must themselves be placed at the end of the chain.

8. macrumors newbie

Please forgive my ignorance, but after reading this thread, I'm still confused as to how to have dual (separate) monitors with the mac mini. I ordered the new mini with the Thunderbolt port. I understand that it also has an HDMI port. So, wouldn't I just be able to hook up one monitor using the HDMI port and another using the Thunderbolt port?

Please let me know if this would work.

Thanks!

9. simsaladimbamba

Yes, that will work.

10. macrumors regular

That's what I figured, just not sure how common for TB devices to have pass through, especially since there aren't many of them out.

Are there TB displays that have pass through? Does the Apple TB Cinema Display? Do others?