noob question regarding gcc/xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Ploki, Mar 6, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    i started to fool around the whole unix system and got some source codes and i cant build them.
    i opened up XcodeTools with pacifist and installed only gcc4.0.pkg, because i didnt want to install the whole 3gig package.
    did i **** up here because apparently the things commands wasnt integrated with the shell?
    or do i have to manually specify whatever that is.
    is there anyway not to install xcode tools and have make it work?

    the sources im trying to compile have a makefile with a switch so its really REALLY easy.

    i know its a dumb question but i cant get my way around on it.. thanks.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Achewood, CA
    #2
    You probably didn't install make, binutils, autotools, or any of the other utilities required to compile programs.

    Documentation probably takes up 2/3 of the developer tools package. If you install everything but the documentation you should be fine.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #3
    yeah i didnt. :S

    nah, the developer tools essentials are like 2,5gigs. :S
    and are not uncheckable.
    so i would only install UNIX Development Support.
    i dont need al that, i just want to fool around in the shell.

    i guess i can remove it later form the Developer directory.

    thx anyway
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4
    I don't like to argue that resources are cheap, but as far as i can tell the smallest stock drive possible in your machines is 250GB... so 1% doesn't seem terrible to me. Obviously you want to use your storage for storing your things, but i wouldn't think the burden should be huge. You can always download and install the individual items you need, but it will be a big hassle.

    -Lee
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    yeah im installing it now anyway.
    the problems is(was) i only have 3 (8 now) gigs left atm. :)

    so now its back to 5 gigs. :D
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    mason.kramer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Location:
    Watertown, MA
    #6
    You need the stuff in the package. The developer install contains lots of libraries that don't ship standard.

    Also, your computer's performance should be suffering as a result of having an overstuff HDD.
     

Share This Page