Noob Question...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Afro1989, Feb 11, 2006.

  1. Afro1989 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #1
    Hey Mac people, I'm totally new to Macs. Some of you may know that I just got my Mac Mini a few weeks ago. Here comes the simple question that you guys can laugh at me about.

    With a PC you can right-click an image and click properties to find out the URL of that image. There must be an easy way to do this with a Mac because I'm using the Apple Wireless Mouse with only one click.

    So how do I find the URL of an image as if I were on a PC?

    Thanks!
     
  2. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #2
    I'm sure someone will come along w/ a better answer... but as a temporary solution.

    You can still 'right' click w/ a one button mouse. Press 'ctrl' and click w/ your mouse, should bring up the little sub menu to select from.
     
  3. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #3
    Thank you very much! I guess that solved my problem.

    If you could answer this question too then that'd be great.

    How do you change the icons on your desktop? Is there an easy way?
     
  4. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #4
    Hee. Gotta love Macs.

    Click on an icon that you're attempting to change and 'get info' (if you wanna get keyboard savvy, then it's command aka apple + i). Then click on whatever icon you do want, and 'copy' it (command aka apple + c) and click back on the original icon and paste over it (command + v).

    If I'm still not being clear, holler back.

    Oh yeah, or you can shell out some $ for this convenient app called CandyBar and it's 'companion' app, Pixadex. Or even better, a combo pack including both of those apps called, CandyBar Plus.
     
  5. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #5
    You can drag and drop the image into the browser address bar and it'll load the image in the current window showing the url. well that's how I do it.
     
  6. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #6
    Why are you people so helpful? I guess there is hope in our future. (^_^)

    That's sick how you can easily change the icon image by copying + pasting.
     
  7. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #7
    I'm ashamed to admit that that was one little characteristic that drew me to Macs. :eek:
     
  8. mcmillan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8
    Another way of getting the sub-menu is cliking and holding the mouse button for 1~ second.
     
  9. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    doesn't seem to work for me.
     
  10. Afro1989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #10
    That only works for me with items in my dock.
     
  11. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
  12. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #12
    Same here, I don't think it works on anything else.
     
  13. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #13
    Works in FireFox. Hold for a second and a menu pops up.
     
  14. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #14
    I'm sure a lot of people (including myself) would love to tear this statement apart, but I'll refrain from starting a "how many buttons" war.
     
  15. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #15
    Yeah, I hear ya - one could argue that the reason OS X is so simplistic and elegant as that poster said, is the fact that you don't need a 2-button mouse. But as you say, we won't get into that whole debate....
     
  16. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #16
    Welcome to MR.. You'll get even better responses if you entitle your posts with something relevant to the question. THis would be the 1,264th thread entiltled "Question" or "Newbie question"

    But pertinent to the question, you need to distinguish between getting the URL of the actual graphic, or the URL of the Link the graphic links to.

    Of the three main Mac browsers, only Firefox has a Properties window that allows you to see the graphic URL directly. In IE and Safari, you have to choose Open Link In New Window and copy the URL from the Location bar.

    All three will allow you to directly copy the Link URL with one mouse click.
     

Share This Page