Noobie question - how do I post a picture of my desktop to the forum?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by florencevassy, May 1, 2005.

  1. florencevassy macrumors regular

    florencevassy

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #1
    How do I post a picture of my desktop to the forum
    (for the desktop pictures forum)?

    I really have no idea how to do this, and I would like to add a picture
    of my desktop to the desktop pictures forum.

    If someone could please let me know I would appreciate it a lot! Thanks! :)
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Apple-Shift-3 saves a screenshot of your desktop to the desktop as a .PDF file. Double-click to open in Preview, then use File --> Export to save as a .JPG.
     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    Whe you reply to a post, scroll down a little and you'll see where it says 'Additional Options' and where it says 'Attach Files' with a 'Manage Attachments' button... that's where.

    Many people also host their own images elsewhere and link to them which shows the image at full-size.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    This is one way... (Edit: Fixed the link so it actually points to something relevant for this topic... :eek:)
     
  5. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Doh! Yeah, I think that's probably what they were asking.
     
  6. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #6
    Note that attachement limit is 100KB for these types of things, so you may have to reduce the file size when exporting (or use a more comprehensive app like Photoshop to do it).

    Another option is to have a hosting site and place the image in IMG tags.

    Edit: Dang I'm a slow typist!
     
  7. florencevassy thread starter macrumors regular

    florencevassy

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #7
    Thanks

    Thanks, that helped a lot. I only have experience using "Printscreen --> Control+V" in Windows. Ugh.

     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    we need to make a sticky of this for the picture forums, anyone up to the task? i would if i had windows and could show how works there....
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    Well, I kind of made a how-to, in last months desktop image thread, the one I ment to link to above :)o):
    EDIT: This only works with the old Panther version of Preview. The new Preview in Tiger no longer has an export function where you can set a target size... :(
     

Share This Page