Normal Temps?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Fonzijr1964, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. Fonzijr1964
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    Are my temps normal?
    I have the air in my sig rev A

    The SSD is "32" degrees F i dont think so

    (in F)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. justit
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #2
    Same here, nothing out of the norm. These are sensors mounted inside that iStat reports back on. The main one to watch is the CPU.
     
  3. Ironic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Ironic

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    In my MBA!
    #3
    Yep Norm for Rev A, it's crazy hot!
    Move to a B and be surprised :)
     
  4. Fonzijr1964
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    The 32 degrees seems silly
     
  5. Cynicalone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #5
    Yeah that is normal for the SSD. Rev A or B it doesn't have anything installed to measure the temp of the SSD the way a HDD does. If you switch it to Celsius it will show 0º all the time.
     
  6. Fiveos22
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Fiveos22

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #6
    What's a good, very small memory footprint, app for checking temp stats on a mac?...I fooled around with something when Tiger first came out (it was a dashboard app) but it was quite the memory hog.

    Better yet, how could I get this through the command line?
     
  7. Cynicalone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #7
    I use iStat Pro, it takes up very little memory and it's free.
     
  8. ArturFelipe
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #8
    I Have a Rev A too but mine is not that hot ...

    well, not so hot like in your photo ... mine now while i post ...

    almost Half of that ...

    try changing your thermal paste ... :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • temp.jpg
      temp.jpg
      File size:
      12.5 KB
      Views:
      183
  9. Fonzijr1964
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    i really dont want to do that. The last time i did it on a PC i shorted the Processor our.
     
  10. J the Ninja
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #10
    Then don't use silver paste.
     
  11. justit
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #11
    Do you have experience using an alternative? If not, may I suggest it could also be impoper technique in applying the paste. Too much leads to greater conduction of heat. Here's a great tut that helped me out:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=6748970&postcount=6
     
  12. Fonzijr1964
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #12
    no u see i had a moment of static discharge
    lol
     

Share This Page