NortonSystemworks 3.0 Boot Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DaveTheGrey, Dec 28, 2003.

  1. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I´ve got a G4 Powerbook with OS X Panther.
    I´ve installed Norton Systemworks and ran the Disk Doctor.
    The DD told me that I´ve got a "major" problem and to reboot from the Systemworks CD to clear the probs.
    I rebooted my Mac with the SystemWorks CD in it and held the "c" button pressed.
    But then a window appeard where he told me that I have to reboot and to press my power button for several seconds.
    I don´t know what to do...
    Perhaps you can help me.

    thanx

    Dave out.
     
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    Re: NortonSystemworks 3.0 Boot Problem

    sounds like a kernal panic, does it happen everytime?

    iJon
     
  3. Macpoops macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #3
    What version of the powerbook is it? Is it one of the new AiBooks? Last time i used Norton it used an OS 9 style boot which the new powerbooks can't do. DiskWarrior would be a better choice or Drive 10
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Re: NortonSystemworks 3.0 Boot Problem

    Except for NAV, SystemWorks is incompatible with Jaguar's journaled file system.
     
  5. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #5
    Re: Re: NortonSystemworks 3.0 Boot Problem

    I tried it for three times now and it happened every time...
     
  6. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #6
    I don´t know what version it is but it isn´t older than 2 month. oh and btw it´s Norton Systemworks 3.0 which should be compatible to panther which i have....
     
  7. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #7
    original quote

    The original quote is:

    "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button."

    And this in 4 languages.
     
  8. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    That is a definite kernel panic.

    Your experience with Norton is not unique. On Macs, anything with the word "Norton" on it seems to do more harm than good. I'll go out on a limb and say you don't need it.

    Try running the utilities that come with Panther. Norton seems to make things sound worse than they are--like it's earning it's keep.

    Did you have a problem with your computer before running Norton Disk Doctor, or did you just do it as a precaution?
     
  9. DaveTheGrey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #9
    just as a precaution...
    Panther works very well !
    Thanks for your answer :)
    I will kick Norton´s ass...

    Dave out.
     
  10. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    That's what I figured. It seems that when people run Norton it always finds problems. Not that there are problems out there that only Norton can find because it's so good--it just gives false readings. At work I supervise 6 people and some do their jobs well. Some of those who don't will rat out other people who aren't doing their job. They apparently want to make themselves valuable to me so that's what they do. That's Norton.

    I would say that if you're into precautions, repair permissions from time to time, back up important stuff, run the cron jobs, and enable journaling if you're using Panther. If you run into a problem that can't be resolved by the above means then invest in Disk Warrior or TechTool.
     

Share This Page