"not enough memory" when trying to print in classic

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by QCassidy352, Mar 7, 2004.

  1. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    My mother keeps getting the message that there's not enough memory to print a document. It's a classic-only application. Booting directly in to 9 does not help.

    There certainly is enough memory. Anyone know what's going on, and how to make it print?

    thanks.
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Duff-Man says....A little more info might help a bit, like what printer, what Mac and what kind of document. It has been a lonnnnnngggg time since I last used OS 9 and even longer since I printed from it....but I have some vague recollections of it sometimes being a bit finicky when AppleTalk was enabled....so try (within OS (/Classic) checking the AppleTalk settings.....oh yeah!
     
  3. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Go to /System Folder/Extensions. Inside you'll find "Print Monitor". Get Info on it, and increase the "Prefered Size" on it to maybe 20,000k. That'll give it 20 MB of RAM use, far more than the default 300k. You have to remember, in OS 9, you have to allocate RAM to apps, unlike OS X's automatic allocation.
     
  4. Panopticon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #4
    Stupid Desktop Printer... Upgrade the software to OS X and watch that message disappear. MoparShaha is right though, OS 9 has manual memory allocation so that's the best place to start. After that, you can get something like "MacOS Purge" which purges your extraneous RAM from the chips... I think you can find that at www.tucows.com - then search for the Mac stuff.

    I bloody hate that message. Where I used to work, we ran OS 9 exclusively, and that message came up all the time. I'm running OS X on both my Macs, and the place I work now uses OS X on 95% of their Macs, and the only time I come across that is when I'm dealing with the Desktop Printing in OS 9x. Thats on local printing, and Appletalk also - running PS and non-PS encoded files.

    Depending on the application, you can always save into something that's OS X friendly and then try again... like a .pdf or something... then printing from OS X (if the printer driver works in it [like if the printer is so old, its not supported]).

    What's the application(s) your mom is having problem(s) with?
     
  5. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    ok, thanks for the help. We'll try allocating more memory. I'll ask her for some more details too (I'm not there right now) and pass them along.
     
  6. Thom_Edwards macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #6
    you might want to increase the memory requirements for the app that is trying to print. do this by choosing 'get info', then 'memory' from the file menu while the app's icon (not alias) is selected. adding 2000 to the preferred box usually does the trick
     
  7. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    well, allocating more memory didn't do it. Need other suggestions please...
     
  8. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    ah, it gets stranger. The application is Print Explosion - but other print explosion documents will print. It's just this one that won't. :confused:
     
  9. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #9
    Sorry, out of ideas here. You might try changing your avatar. The printing problem might be related to the curse. :D
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Isn't there a MacOS X-native version of Print Explosion? Printing from MacOS X would dramatically simplify your life. If you can use the MacOS X version and if your problmme lies in just one document, then the file may be corrupted. Why don't you try to reproduce the document
     

Share This Page