not enough room to install airport enabler!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Fugel, Jan 30, 2007.

1. Fugel macrumors newbie

Nov 14, 2006
    hey, ive just downloaded the new N enabler but when i try and install it it says tht my Mac HD it says that it does not reach requirements. i dont know if this is about space on disc, seeing as i have like 80gb spare, so i was wondering if someone could help. thankyou
  2. vansouza macrumors 68000

Mar 28, 2006
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    Are you sure you have the correct equipment that will accept the upgrade?
  3. Fugel thread starter macrumors newbie

Nov 14, 2006
    yup. i got a brand new 15" MBP C2D for xmas, and i bought a new netgear N router last week. the exact thing the installer says is :
    "you cannot install airport extreme 802.11n enabler on this volume. this volume does not meet the requirements for this update."
    i bet ive missed something rele obvious. forgive my naivety... im new to the mac thing :p
  4. BenHoleton macrumors regular

Dec 11, 2006
    You can always call Apple tech support, as you have 3 free months when you buy a mbp
  5. Gerg macrumors regular

Feb 3, 2003
    Maybe it's already enabled on your system. Follow the steps at the Apple Store to see if it's already "n" capable.
  6. gwilli macrumors newbie

Sep 24, 2006
    London Town
    I'm having the same problems too... Did you get your netgear router thinking Apple would give you the enabler for free? I did the same, got the same router too. My first one died within 10 mins :(
  7. gwilli macrumors newbie

Sep 24, 2006
    London Town
    You need to run a software update on your mac before you can install the enabler. There should be an update with -

"This update is recommended for all Intel-based Macintosh computers and provides compatibility with AirPort Extreme base stations and networks."

After you install that you should be able to install the enabler!
  8. phuong macrumors 6502a

Aug 16, 2006