Not getting enough hits? Sue Google...

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by emw, Nov 2, 2006.

1. emw macrumors G4

Aug 2, 2004
    Only in America. :rolleyes:

Isn't it Google's right to rank sites as they please? This seems to me to be a suit without merit, but I'm no lawyer.
  2. clayj macrumors 604

Jan 14, 2005
    visiting from downstream
    This lawsuit is moronic. The only way it has any kind of merit that I can think of (and I am not a lawyer) is if a court deems that Google, through its ubiquity, has attained some sort of "common carrier" status, like a utility company.

I don't think this suit will go anywhere... Google will fight tooth and nail to protect their methods for ranking pages.
  3. link92 macrumors 6502

Aug 15, 2004
    … and it sure ain't easy to get yourself moved down to a PR0 anyway. To my knowledge that's done by a human, and human alone. It's never done purely automatically.
  4. wallock, Nov 2, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013

wallock macrumors member

Sep 11, 2006
  5. question fear macrumors 68020

question fear

Apr 10, 2003
    The "Garden" state
    This lawsuit is almost as funny as the company trying to sue youtube because their website is utube. Everybody wants a piece of google these days.
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

May 26, 2005
    Working for MI-6

If you can't beat them, sue 'em. :rolleyes: :D
  7. iMeowbot macrumors G3

Aug 30, 2003
    That is exactly what the judge has been asking :)
    [edit: ah, orig. link has that line in it too! ]
  8. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

May 6, 2005
    Bay Area
    Hold up a bit. This suit is just a tad bit different...

As I understand this:

Utube is suing YouTube because of the sudden fluctuation in hits that utube has gotten due to typos that people make when trying to access YouTube.

Utube's traffic went from a couple of hits per day, to 2 MILLION hits per day. Thats a whole lot of typos, and its costing Utube a whole lot of money.