Not going back to Finder

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by tortex, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. tortex, Jun 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #1
    Hello.

    So my new Air is being odd, if I'm in safari and I quit with the keyboard, the finder will not be selected even if it's now the only running app. Never had this before on any Mac. I have to switch back to the finder to get the menu etc. Is this a known bug?

    Plus, my battery life is nowhere near 12 hours estimated, more like 6.

    EDIT: Also, if I take any window and go to drag it and the cursor enter the finders menu, the system becomes very slow. Nothing major but odd.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #2
    Are you sure you're quitting Safari or just closing the window? Closing the window does not quit the application.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #3
    I'm quitting. It's not just Safari, it's every application. I've never seen it before, I've been using Apple systems since OS8.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    I wish OSX automatically quits an App when the last window is closed, just like Windows! <gasp> Feels more "natural" to me.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #5
    Let me clarify: open ANY app. Use CMD+Q to quit back to Finder. You now have a Finder menu bar on the top of your screen yes?

    I dont. Ever. Unless I then select the finder manually.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #6
    What's on the menu bar since Finder is not?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #7
    I have no Finder bar, that's the problem, I just have wallpaper. The Finder is not selected so CMD+Space to Spotlight etc does nothing.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #8
    Try making a new user account and see if the problem exists there. If it does it's probably a problem with your user, and not a system issue.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #9
    Yep, creating a new account then deleting it fixed the problem. :)
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #10
    My new MBA 13" had the same issue too. Software update fixed it.
     

Share This Page