Not prompted for Disk 2 via Superdrive reinstall

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by steffi, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. steffi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #1
    Something I found rather un-apple like was not being prompted for Disk 2 when reinstalling OSX.

    It just spits out Disk 1 but doesn't explain why or what it wants next.
     
  2. samh004
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Never big been asked bug most things are on DVD these days so there's only 1 disc.

    Your posting in the MBA forum, do you intend to be?Perhaps if your installing through another machines drive the kinks haven't all been worked out.
     
  3. matthewHUB
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #3
    mine did. it restarts, then says stick in disc 2.
     
  4. duffyanneal
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    duffyanneal

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    It depends if you need anything from the second disk. I did a clean install with no iLife apps and it did not ask for the second disk.
     
  5. Halon X
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    #5
    I encountered the same issue doing my re-install. Was confident it was time to put in disk 2 (why else eject disk 1) but opened the install log just to be sure.

    Ever minute or so a new line would append to the log, it wasn't finding something it needed but wasn't really clear on what exactly it needed.

    Put in disk 2 and she was happy again!
     
  6. steffi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #6
    Exactly how it went down for me

    Message wasn't too clear

     
  7. clayj
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #7
    As someone who's done a couple of reinstalls on my MBA already... it is correct that you will NOT be prompted for Disk 2. When Disk 1 gets ejected, you should just go ahead and insert Disk 2, even if you are not prompted for it.
     

Share This Page