Not prompted for Disk 2 via Superdrive reinstall

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by steffi, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #1
    Something I found rather un-apple like was not being prompted for Disk 2 when reinstalling OSX.

    It just spits out Disk 1 but doesn't explain why or what it wants next.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Never big been asked bug most things are on DVD these days so there's only 1 disc.

    Your posting in the MBA forum, do you intend to be?Perhaps if your installing through another machines drive the kinks haven't all been worked out.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #3
    mine did. it restarts, then says stick in disc 2.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    duffyanneal

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    It depends if you need anything from the second disk. I did a clean install with no iLife apps and it did not ask for the second disk.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    #5
    I encountered the same issue doing my re-install. Was confident it was time to put in disk 2 (why else eject disk 1) but opened the install log just to be sure.

    Ever minute or so a new line would append to the log, it wasn't finding something it needed but wasn't really clear on what exactly it needed.

    Put in disk 2 and she was happy again!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #6
    Exactly how it went down for me

    Message wasn't too clear

     
  7. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #7
    As someone who's done a couple of reinstalls on my MBA already... it is correct that you will NOT be prompted for Disk 2. When Disk 1 gets ejected, you should just go ahead and insert Disk 2, even if you are not prompted for it.
     

Share This Page