not using all my ram

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by twoodcc, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    i have a mac mini that i upgraded to 1Gb of ram myself. i have a widget that tells me how much of my ram that is being used and stuff, and it has over 300mb that are inactive, and i have like 20-30mb free. this can't be good? what should i do?
     
  2. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #2
    It's all good. OSX manages ram that way, so that all your ram is active for use. Don't worry if the computer needs more ram then there is free, it will go into the inactive section. I'm not sure exactly how to explain but it's just the way OSX handles ram :)

    Maybe another member can explain how ram is managed :)
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    thanks for the reply. that makes me feel better at least.
     
  4. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #4
    If you want to know if your computer needs more ram check the page outs. This is when the computer needs to write to the hardrive. In say a day from restarting the page out reaches 6 figures or so, it is a good indication that you would benefit from ram. But 1GB of ram is plenty for the average user :)
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    well the mini only holds 1gb anyways, so i can't add anymore. but how do i check the page outs anyways?
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    go into terminal and issue the command "vm_stat" or "top"
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    thanks for the tip
    :cool:
     
  8. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #8
    It also in Activity monitor, in the ram section :)
     

Share This Page