notbook buying decision

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by pdham, Jan 28, 2003.

1. pdham macrumors member

Hey guys first off this is my first post so I would like to say hello.

This is my question; I am going to be purchasing a new apple notebook this weekend and I am trying to decide between two of them. I am a Journalism student so portability is a big issue. I will use iTunes to listen to music but nothing more and I may (but most likely not) use iMovie.
    The two computers that i am deciding between are as follows:

iBook - g3 800mhz, 604mb, combo drive, 40gig, ATI Radeaon 7500, 14.1in - $1829

and

Powerbook - g4 867mhz, 604mb, combo drive, 40gig, Geforce 4,
    12.1 in - $1949

Now the bigger screen is definitly intriguing because when I write, i like to have two word docs up at once... one notes another text or a word doc and explorer. Also the 2 - 4 weeks shipping is an issue with the powerbook.... I need this computer soon for school reasons. So please tell me your opinions.
    Thanks,
    Paul

2. vniow macrumors G4

Most people avoid the 14" iBook since it offers only a bigger screen, not more space in pixels so word documents and stuffs will be larger but they will not be clearer (unless you have bad eyesight)

If you're not going to do any Altivec'ed stuff (like iMovie) then the G3 will be faster in just about everything, plus the iBook has a better video card.

I think you would like the 12" iBook for portability reasons (about the same size as a book) plus it can support external monitors (with a firmware hack).

Happy Maccing![​IMG]

Edit: you say you're a student?
    Go check out the Apple edu store and compare prices, you'll see some discounts.

3. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

Hello and welcome to the forums!

The 14" iBook has the same screen resolution as the 12" iBook and PB, so you won't be able to display more on that machine than the other two.